Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2016, 07:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Sg6923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 113
E1Code on 2010 Dometic Refrigerator

I left my fridge on electric they the winter. When I readied it for our first camping of the season I noticed an E1 code flashing. My RV mechanic insists that E1 signals a problem with the gas side of the fridge. I told him I had it on electric. Long story short he cleaned the gas side out and said it was fixed. The next day I checked and still had the code. He checked it again and said it was fixed and again it was not. What can I tell him to check. One reader board said a power surge they the converter can cause the problem. Help!!! I have a 2010 Cardinal3625 5er.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Sg6923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 11:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 330
E1 is a gas code. To reset code you must turn off power then turn it back on
__________________

__________________
Rich5117 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 07:47 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
E1Code on 2010 Dometic Refrigerator

I'm pretty sure E1 is loss of communication.
Nope, that's for the heating and cooling thermostat sorry.



2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,320
I was getting that code also and it turned out my converter was bad so guess it was affecting the power source, installed new converter and now no problem.
__________________
dblr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 05:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sg6923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Thanks all! I've pretty well ruled out gas issue because it's happening on 120v. I'm moving on to the converter and then the control board. It almost has to be one of the two. I'm glad it works fine on 120.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Sg6923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 06:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sg6923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Well, the camper is still in the shop. They have replaced a couple circuit boards and on the 3rd. I told them about the converter and they said it checked fine. I'm about ready to tell them to forget it as fridge works fine on gas and electric. It's just a nuisance factor now.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Sg6923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 12:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
97flhtcui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 154
We had a 2009 Cardinal with a domestic drive that had a readout on top. On ours I replaced the converter to stop the error. There is a small circuit board in the converter that smooths out the 12 volts it makes. To confirm this run a jumper wire + and - to the fridge back and unplug the 12v and 120v power to it. Jump the 12v to the fridge. Give it 24 hrs and if it won't error then it is your power converter.
__________________
2011 Ford F-250 6.2l gas 373 rear end
2015 Cedar Creek 34RL
97flhtcui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 12:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
97flhtcui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 154
Other wise your converter is making bad 12v power.
__________________
2011 Ford F-250 6.2l gas 373 rear end
2015 Cedar Creek 34RL
97flhtcui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 01:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
97flhtcui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 154
sg6923,
Are you sure it runs OK on 120v? The 120v is for the heater in the fridge. Otherwise you would use propane. Your electronics are powered by 12v DC regardless. If your power converter is bad it should error out on shore power and propane.
__________________
2011 Ford F-250 6.2l gas 373 rear end
2015 Cedar Creek 34RL
97flhtcui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 03:10 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97flhtcui View Post
sg6923,
Are you sure it runs OK on 120v? The 120v is for the heater in the fridge. Otherwise you would use propane. Your electronics are powered by 12v DC regardless. If your power converter is bad it should error out on shore power and propane.


Heater in the fridge? What?
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.