Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2018, 03:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 57
Prewired for 2nd a/c unit???

I just purchased a 2005 Forest River Cardinal and was wanting to know if I could add a 2nd a/c unit. I've read where some come prewired for a 2nd unit. How can I tell if mine is prewired or not?
__________________

orabun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:19 PM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,072
#1 way, is it a 50 amp unit? If it's not then it likely isn't prewired.
#2 way is to pull the vent trim in the bedroom off and see if there's romex wiring ran to there. If there is, then it's wired for a second A/C.

Even if it isn't prewired for a second A/C, plenty of people have added a second unit to their RV and ran power from the ceiling to the outside and used a 20 amp power cord to run to the pedestal.

It may even be possible to upgrade the unit to a 50 amp service if it isn't.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 08:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 57
2nd A/C Wiring???

A while back I ask the question about whether or not my Forest River Cardinal 29' 5th wheel with 50 amp service would be pre-wired for a second a/c unit or not. I got a couple of inputs from the forum, but not many. Can anyone answer this question? If it does have wiring for a second a/c, how would it be wired in the breaker box? Or would it be listed in the box if it were pre-wired?
orabun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:25 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by orabun View Post
A while back I ask the question about whether or not my Forest River Cardinal 29' 5th wheel with 50 amp service would be pre-wired for a second a/c unit or not. I got a couple of inputs from the forum, but not many. Can anyone answer this question? If it does have wiring for a second a/c, how would it be wired in the breaker box? Or would it be listed in the box if it were pre-wired?
Maybe you could answer Bama Ramblerís question in post 2.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by orabun View Post
A while back I ask the question about whether or not my Forest River Cardinal 29' 5th wheel with 50 amp service would be pre-wired for a second a/c unit or not. I got a couple of inputs from the forum, but not many. Can anyone answer this question? If it does have wiring for a second a/c, how would it be wired in the breaker box? Or would it be listed in the box if it were pre-wired?
If it's prewired there will be an unused wire in the panel box it won't be hooked to a breaker. Romex sheath probably not stripped off the end. Should be a yellow Romex.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 09:16 AM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,072
Just be aware that in a 2005 unit that romex, if it exists, probably isn't going to be yellow. I know in our 2006 unit we had all the romex sheaths whether it was #14 or #12 awg were white.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 57
Yes, it is a 50 amp.
orabun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
#1 way, is it a 50 amp unit? If it's not then it likely isn't prewired.

#2 way is to pull the vent trim in the bedroom off and see if there's romex wiring ran to there. If there is, then it's wired for a second A/C.



Even if it isn't prewired for a second A/C, plenty of people have added a second unit to their RV and ran power from the ceiling to the outside and used a 20 amp power cord to run to the pedestal.



It may even be possible to upgrade the unit to a 50 amp service if it isn't.
Yes, it is a 50 amp.
orabun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:26 PM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,072
The next thing to do is either pull the trim ring off the vent and see if there's 120 volt wiring there, an/or pull the cover off the power panel and see if there's a spare wire in there. If you find one in both places that's almost for certain that it's wired for the second unit.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


×