Old 06-27-2013, 01:49 AM   #1
*** VIN LOCATION *** 2003 Forest River Cardinal

Hello everyone,

I am new to RV so please help me get started. I recently purchased a 2003 Forest River 5th wheel, 34 foot, 3 slideout from an auction. I am having problem registering it because i am unable to verify the Vin. I have found the sticker inside the cabinet that states the weights, tanks, and vin, however, DMV wants to see the vin on the outside. The tongue at the front has been painted a few times so I was unable to see a plate with the Vin. I removed the paint but still dont see a vin stamped into the tongue.

Can anyone please tell me exactly where to look. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. If I am unable to find it or it has been removed, how would I go about getting a duplicate vin?

Thank you

mike818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 02:03 AM   #2
Site Team
Hi Mike. It might help if we knew which state you are trying to register your RV in, so someone who is familiar with the laws there can chime in.

Here in Louisiana, the DMV has never wanted to see, or even asked to see any trailer I have titled/registered. They just want the paperwork, which I would assume you would have gotten something from the auction company showing the VIN number..................but you may have not, which may be the problem.

Was this a private auction or a public one (like a police forfeiture type)?

I know here in LA, if you build your own trailer (which I did once), you can take it to the State Police troop headquarters for your district and they will stamp a number onto the trailer for you, then give you the paperwork to take to the Department of Motor Vehicles so you can obtain your title/registration on it. Maybe your State Police can also help you in your situation. It wouldn't hurt to call them and explain the situation.

If you cannot locate the VIN on the pin box somewhere, you might can also look on the left /driver side of the trailer for a label/placard.