Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2017, 01:06 PM   #21

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
X2...X3...X4 on that.

It totally amazes me that RV manufacturers will put 4 big batteries, a generator, a 70 amp converter and a 2000 watt inverter into an RV and skip a $150 DC system monitor like a Trimetric or Victron. Why do they bother to put in a gas gauge? If you are filling up you are adding, if you are running you are using...that is really all the damn 4 LEDs show anybody. No modern RV should be without an SOC monitor.
Couldn't agree more, DC monitor critical
ccamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 02:06 PM   #22

Duracell golf cart battery

1. Quote:
    Originally Posted by itat View Post
    I'm no expert but I'd suggest that if you only do a single night, you could make a single 12v, Group 31 battery suffice. For a 4 day off grid stay, you should go with 2 6V batteries in series.
Quote:
Originally Posted by itat View Post
Trojan Batteries are top rated. Deka batteries are also respected. Also look at VMAX batteries on Amazon.com. Even Costco 6V golf cart batteries are respectable.
Has anyone had any experience with this brand? Duracell 215 Ah for around $100. https://www.batteriesplus.com/productdetails/sligc110
As I recall the Trojans are much pricier.
Fuzzy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 02:13 PM   #23

I agree with everyone in regards to using 6 Volt golf cart batteries.. A true deep cell battery.. IMO, Interstate batteries maybe good a few years back, but they are junk now.. My 2017 Rockwood came with Interstate batteries and they are now shot. won't hold a charge.. going to replace them with Trojans 6V and never look back !!
clintbonnie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 02:31 PM   #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by clintbonnie73 View Post