Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 06:44 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnnc
Thanks for bringing this up. I had forgotten to burn ours in, will open all the windows and roof vents tomorrow and turn it on. Hate to get to FL and have to use it and get smoked out.
Me to ! Good reminder !
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
lindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jamestown NY
Posts: 588
I cheat when needing heat in the camper. I run a sperate heavy extension cord out to the power pole, and plug it into the 15A plug, then I have a seperate dedicated power source for my 1500W heater. Keeps our camper nice and warm even with temps down around 30 degrees.
__________________

__________________

2012 Winnebago "Journey To Insanity" 40U
2008 Dakota Sport 4x4
2004 Subaru Baja - DW's
2006 Honda Shadow Aero - TOAD for now.
F.R.O.G. member
lindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:55 AM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
While we are talking about CO detectors, Lysol aerosol spray will make a detector go off, and it may not be right away.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:17 AM   #14
Member
 
chucker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 55
ThunderRoad - our Aframe took a long time for the propane furnace to 'burn-off'. Eventually I had to let it run overnight in the driveway for 3 nights. Now it finally has lost that new smell. During the burn in period the ceiling smoke detector would go off quite often (for the overnight runs in driveway I pulled the battery - no one was in the trailer but I didn't want to disturb the neighbors).
One thing I have noticed - the large back window has to be shut when the propane furnace is running otherwise the smoke detector will still occasionally go off. Since the furnace exhaust vents to the back side I think given the right wind conditions some of the exhaust was coming in the window and triggering the alarm (the distance between the furnace exhaust vent and the large window is minimal as you know). So if we want a little ventilation when running the furnace we use only the small front window and the ceiling fan vent.
__________________
2013 Rockwood A128S
Ford Ranger
chucker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:40 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnnc View Post
I would only fire up a furnace the first time with everything open to dissipate the fumes and let it burn for at least 15-20 minutes with the thermostat turned to max.
Yep, this is right out of the manual and should have been mentioned during your PDI.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:43 AM   #16
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Each season when the furnace is needed I turn it on with the windows open for about an hour due to dust settling in the unit. I do the same with the AC unit with the Strip Heaters. Dust gets on the element and once it's energized the dust burns off. It's the same for a residential Gas or Oil Furnace or even a Heat Pump System when that Aux. Heater comes on the first time you'll know it by the scent of the dust burning off. I call it the smell of first heat.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:32 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
heck, after we built our house and moved in, the first 2-3 times i ran the furnace (which is electric btw) it set off my fire/co detectors....they came and inspected and said they coils had a lot of manufacturing residue....and no they didnt tell me not to run the furnace...just to crack a door the next few times i ran it....

so its not just new campers or even propane that can set those things off in the begining...now if you have been running it everyday for a month with no problems, then alarms start going off, i would be worried....
__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:48 AM   #18
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Yep, this is right out of the manual and should have been mentioned during your PDI.
It was and we've done it on the 7 campers we've had, I just forgot to do it on this one. The tech had started it, but didn't let it run long enough to complete the task. I just fired it up about 10 minutes ago and will let it run for about an hr with the windows open, roof vent open and stove vent fan on.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:13 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ThunderRoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 164
As the one that posted the original thread, I let mine run for about 3 hours in the driveway with the windows open and the roof vent on low. Then I sealed it up and let it go another hour with the smoke alarm no longer going off.

You can run the furnace fine with all the windows closed, but I found that the camper is so well sealed, I didn't feel that I got a lot of fresh air. I prefer to crack the small window and either crack the the large window a little, or open the roof vent just enough to power the fan on low. Yes it makes the furnace run a little less efficiently, but it gets really stuffy otherwise.
__________________
2012 Lincoln MKX
2013 Rockwood A122BH A-Frame
ThunderRoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:20 PM   #20
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRoad View Post

You can run the furnace fine with all the windows closed, but I found that the camper is so well sealed, I didn't feel that I got a lot of fresh air. I prefer to crack the small window and either crack the the large window a little, or open the roof vent just enough to power the fan on low. Yes it makes the furnace run a little less efficiently, but it gets really stuffy otherwise.
It can get stuffy and leaving a little air flow helps to control condensation. This is why we installed vent covers. We rarely close our vents now preferring to have a bit of air flow. Its only really a challenge in the spring and fall for us when it drops way down at night.
__________________

__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.