Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 07:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawlus View Post
You don't need a kill switch or to spend any additional money, just pull the main fuse for the power line which is about 12" from the battery box, it's in a little red flip-top weatherproof inline fuse holder, this will cut all battery power without any investment or additional devices. I've been doing this for my a frame since purchase, I put the fuse on top of the propane tank cover and have never forgotten to put it back.....
I have a 2012 A122 and do not see the fuse. Can anyone confirm their A122 has one. I even called the dealer who said he did not think it had the fuse. I'm confused.
__________________

__________________
Tinsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 441
Mine is a 2011 and def has the in-line fuse.
__________________

__________________
2011 A-122
rawlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
A battery kill switch is needed and not supplied with our campers. Without one you can expect a fully charged battery to be dead flat in 10 days.

Always use a battery tender (solar or plug in) to maintain your battery, install a disconnect, or remove the ground cable (only) every time you put it away.
I assume the ground cable is black? My tech guy at dealership said to remove the red cable? I doublechecked he said that. Any thoughts on why he picked the red cable?
__________________
Tinsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawlus View Post
Mine is a 2011 and def has the in-line fuse.
The dealership guy told me he was surprised to learn Rockwood did not put them in 2012 units.
__________________
Tinsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:28 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,728
My 2014 does not have an inline fuse. It has a circuit breaker instead.
__________________
Tom

2012 Rockwood A122S
2008 Toyota Tundra Double Cab 4X4

Former owner of a 2002 Coleman Niagara GTE
Pooneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:33 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawlus View Post
You don't need a kill switch or to spend any additional money, just pull the main fuse for the power line which is about 12" from the battery box, it's in a little red flip-top weatherproof inline fuse holder, this will cut all battery power without any investment or additional devices. I've been doing this for my a frame since purchase, I put the fuse on top of the propane tank cover and have never forgotten to put it back.....
Much easier to install a cutoff switch.
I mounted a household light switch above the battery, so it is an easy flip of the finger to turn the power on/off.
__________________
bakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:53 PM   #17
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,769
Battery disconnect-

http://learntorv.blogspot.com/2013/0...installed.html

My battery is under a floor and required screws to be removed to get at it.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:02 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Valencia
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsusluvsyou View Post
Just bought a122 BH and been out in it twice. Parked it at home and just opened it up, tried to turn on the interior light and it wouldn't. Wondered if something drains the battery? Thought everything is off, as far as I know. How can you tell how much is left in the batteries?
You can buy a battery load tester and test the battery yourself to find out if you have a good battery or take it into any auto parts store and they will test it for you. I have a actron 130 amp heavy duty battery load tester which cost me something like $50.00 and will test the battery in 10 seconds and will tell you the condition of your battery.
__________________
Cacooze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 11:47 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pooneil View Post
My 2014 does not have an inline fuse. It has a circuit breaker instead.
Really? Where is it located?
__________________
Tinsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:17 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Jsusluvsyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tampa
Posts: 135
I have. 2014 a122bh can I turn battery off by the circuit breaker?
__________________

__________________
Jsusluvsyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.