Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2015, 04:02 PM   #1

Generator use

This is probably a dumb question, but I am new to generator use and want to do a lot of off-the-grid camping. My question is this: to use the generator, do I just attach the A122S 30-amp electrical cord to the generator's 30 amp outlet and run the cord to the inlet on the left side of the trailer? If so, is that all that needs to be done? I probably won't use the genie for more than lights and my wife's CPAP machine, possibly the furnace on cold nights. I may or may not try to run the AC off of it. Would all of this work, as long as I wasn't running a lot of stuff all at the same time? My Generator is the Honda EU2000i "Companion" model. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Kdot
kdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 05:17 PM   #2

That's it so far as connections go.

If it's just the interior lights you shouldn't need the generator to run them.
You do need the generator to run the a/c.
You don't need it to run the furnace.
rwarrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 05:26 PM   #3

Generator hook-up

Thanks Kwarrin, that's what I suspected.

Kent
Old 08-02-2015, 05:37 PM   #4

I should clarify when I say "you don't need your generator to do xxxx" I am assuming you have a charged battery.
rwarrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 11:58 AM   #5

Kdot, I believe that the CPAP runs on 110ac, so you would need to run the shore power cord. If the CPAP can run on 12vdc, then hooking up the genie's 12v straight to the battery would be fine.

The easiest way to think about it is:
Hooked to shore power, run anything.
Hooked to battery, run only 12v things.

My 2¢
Jim
Jim n Shari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 01:19 PM   #6

Generator use

Jim and Shari,