Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2013, 10:55 AM   #1

Getting ready for the camping season

Hello All,

I have had my 122BH winterized during the cold weather and we are ready to get it prepared for the camping season. I have charged my battery, but I am a complete newbie regarding the other tasks needed to get my camper ready for the road. Could anyone post a list of things to be done and a short description of how to do them when required. I need to know how to properly fill the camper with water making sure that the water heater is filled and all of the valves are in their proper positions. I also need to know how to test the water heater, water pump, etc. prior to hitting the road. Also, do I need to grease the wheel bearings for the season?
Many thanks in advance for your help with this information!

Kix
Old 05-17-2013, 03:26 PM   #2

The first thing I would do is hook the water up to the city water and open all the faucets and get all the pink anti freeze out. Then I am sure you by passed your water heater so turn the valves back in the summer position so you can fill hot water tank. Then open the pressure relief valve on your hot water tank to get all the air out when filling the tank by opening a hot water faucet in the camper.. Then once water is coming out close the valve and let the tank fill. Then turn on propane and purge out lines by turning on the stove till you get it to light and then light your hot water heater let it warm up a bit and check for hot water at faucets.

Yes putting some grease in the wheel bearings wouldn't be a bad idea.

Good luck!!
2014 Honda Pioneer 700-4
2004 Yamaha Grizzly 660
wyo700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 03:36 PM   #3

Camping Season

Many Thanks wyo700!!!

That's just the information I was looking for! I appreciate your taking the time to help out.

Kix
Old 05-17-2013, 04:56 PM   #4