Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2014, 04:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 180
No 30 amp-Will Air Conditioner Run OK

I read a post somewhere (I think on this forum) that our air conditioners could run on 15 or 20 amp breakers instead of the 30 amp breakers like at rv parks and state parks.

I keep my camper plugged into my 110v at home to keep the battery charged. Yesterday, I turned the air conditioner on just to see if it would work and it turned on....the compressor turned on and the cold air was blowing in just a few minutes.

My grandkids are staying with us Friday night here at home and I thought they would enjoy sleeping in the camper but it's too hot without air conditioning.

My question is would it be ok to run the air conditioner even though it's not 30 amp....not sure if it's 15 or 20 amp...older house. This is not something I would do on a regular basis but would be nice if it works without hurting air conditioner.

Thanks

David
__________________

__________________
Tow Vehicle: 2012 Durango 3.6 Pentastar Engine
Purchased 2013 A128S 01-15-14
Total nights camping 2014-(10)
Total Nights Camping 2015-(9)
Total Nights Camping 2016-(5)
Total Nights Camping 2017-(4)
mlsa3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:17 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Most household outlets are 15 amp rated.
Normal a/c uses 18 amps to start and run 12-14 thereafter depending on how hot it is.
A true 20 amp outlet has one prong vertical and one horizontal.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:20 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
I have ran my a/c on a 15 amp outlet with a short cord to the outlet.
Now my outlet was only a foot from the breaker box in my shed and the cord was 20' and 12 ga. Wire.

YRMV !
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: south ga
Posts: 61
amps are self protecting. it is voltage drop you should be concerned with. how much voltage is there when ac is loaded and running?
__________________
rr retired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlsa3 View Post
I read a post somewhere (I think on this forum) that our air conditioners could run on 15 or 20 amp breakers instead of the 30 amp breakers like at rv parks and state parks.

I keep my camper plugged into my 110v at home to keep the battery charged. Yesterday, I turned the air conditioner on just to see if it would work and it turned on....the compressor turned on and the cold air was blowing in just a few minutes.

My grandkids are staying with us Friday night here at home and I thought they would enjoy sleeping in the camper but it's too hot without air conditioning.

My question is would it be ok to run the air conditioner even though it's not 30 amp....not sure if it's 15 or 20 amp...older house. This is not something I would do on a regular basis but would be nice if it works without hurting air conditioner.

Thanks

David
I have done it in the past. If you don't have LED bulbs in your light fixtures, don't turn the lights on. I'm with Turbs on the amp usage. You'll be drawing 12-14 amps with just the A/C running. Then the converter will pull 1-2 amps. You are pushing the limit on amps. Keep the power cord to no more than 20-25' and since you will be using an adapter for the receptacle, make sure the cord fits snug into the adapter and the adapter fits snug into the receptacle. If the cord, ends or adapter get hot, the party's over.
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
thestrangebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 337
My AC will run for a few mins and trip our breaker on the 15 amp plugs outside. Which is weird because when we first got the trailer, we let the AC on for hours while we messed around with things and let my daughter play and watch movies. Never tripped it. Now I can't get the AC to run for more than 10 mins. plugged in.
__________________
2014 F-150 SCREW Ecoboost 4x4.

2014 Rockwood Roo 233s GVWR
thestrangebrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
You're cooking the goose with all those amps! I'll bet some damage has been done somewhere along the way to the outlet, adapter or the power cord. Do a search on here for the amp list for what each electrical item will pull. It may be in the library section. Print it out and pin it inside a cabinet for future reference.
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
thestrangebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timex View Post
You're cooking the goose with all those amps! I'll bet some damage has been done somewhere along the way to the outlet, adapter or the power cord. Do a search on here for the amp list for what each electrical item will pull. It may be in the library section. Print it out and pin it inside a cabinet for future reference.

Oh man thanks! I'll have to find that list!
__________________
2014 F-150 SCREW Ecoboost 4x4.

2014 Rockwood Roo 233s GVWR
thestrangebrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Try this. Found this on an earlier thread.

normal appliance amp draws
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:56 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,154
FYI - My Colman Mach III 15K pulled 19-22 amps on start-up and about 15.5 amps running prior to installing the fan delay. Now it is 16 amps on start-up (but the peak stays longer due to the fan kicking in about when the compressor evens out.

My 20 amp garage circuit can handle it just fine, but the Yamaha 3000 watt (with 500 watt boost) generator will toggle in and out of overload (boost) as the compressor cycles.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.