Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2016, 03:00 AM   #1
Viking

Send a message via AIM to asbrand Send a message via Yahoo to asbrand
Question Questions about Forest River Hard Side A-Frame Popups

Newbie here, just created my account. Been reading posts for a few weeks now.

Little info about me: I've got lots of experience tent camping (30+ years). I am a medieval re-enactor, and I have a full period encampment (10x12 canvas wall tent, canvas dayshade, wrought iron tent stakes, ropes, etc. I am a woodworker, and made myself a viking-style slat bed on posts. These are great for a week long camping trip when re-enacting. They suck for weekends, or when I just want to mundane camp elsewhere. Pulling in on a Friday evening, taking 4-5 hours to get all that set up, and then tear it all back down Sunday morning gets old.

So, I've been doing a lot of research on RVs. That lead me eventually to the A-Frame pop-up camper. I looked (online) at the A-Liner, the Chalet, the Jayco, and the two "brands" from Forest River (Rockwood and Flagstaff). Of all those, the Rockwood / Flagstaff seem to offer the most "bang for your buck" in layouts, storage, etc.

I am primarily interested in the Rockwood A213HW (though the Flagstaff version of the same layout would be fine).

However, I've read a LOT of horror stories about Forest River (all their offerings, not just A-Frames). So, it makes me pause. Hence, why I am here.

Those of you who have owned a Forest River A-Frame (any model, but especially the High Wall ones), what are the biggest problems? What usually fails first? How well does the fridge work in hot weather? Same with the Coolcat? I'm in Georgia, and it gets bloody hot down here in the Summer (like right now).