Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2013, 11:08 PM   #1

Shower tents/Generator usage at campgrounds

As I was looking over a couple different threads I noticed some folks discussing their shower tents since our rigs generally come with outdoor showers. What's the rule of thumb when it comes to campgrounds allowing the use of these showers? How tough are the restrictions on these types of set ups at campgrounds? Don't they frown on the "grey" water from the shower, or do most places kind of ignore it? Also...I was thinking that if I did one of those set ups, do you use some kind of a rubber or plastic raised mat or something so that you don't end up standing in a mud puddle? I'm a newbie to the outdoor shower idea...makes sense to me...but are you able to use them in most campgrounds?
ALSO related to campground regulations...I am noticing as I am surfing around looking for campgrounds...that some will not allow generators...is this also typical. Are you pretty much limited to the rustic campgrounds for generator use and outdoor showers (BLM or remote state parks, etc)? Thanks for any insight you can provide on the use of these items!
gdenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:54 PM   #2
Site Team

at least in California, most state campgrounds allow for generators, since less than 1% of their campsites have any hookups.
so, since 99%+ campsites have no electric, they have to allow generators.
but all campgrounds that allow generators, that i've heard of, have hours of operation. usually 10am-8 or 10pm.

really depends on where you're talking about. at Colter Bay's Campground, in Wyoming, they have generator loops and non-generator loops.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote