Old 06-12-2012, 04:32 PM   #1

Question Solar Panel for Aframe

Anyone have any advice about purchasing a solar panel to use with my Flagstaff T12RB Aframe? My main concern is running the lights and possibly the fan. Don’t want to over do it but what’s that saying better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it. Not sure what the cost will be guess I’ll have to determine my budget as I receive more information.
This is my first year with the Aframe learning as I go along so please keep this strictly Solar Panels for Dummies. Appreciate the help.

Old 06-12-2012, 05:10 PM   #2

There are a number of members of this particular forum that run solar in their Aframes, Hamguy, me and i think, Daveinpickerton.
I think one of the big things for me, was to turf the single RV style battery and install two 12v. group 29/31 batts to help us create a buffer for days that we would not capture enough sun, and continue to use all our 12 volt appliances seemelessly, like they were hooked up to 120.
Adding up all the draws, I felt that an 80 watt panel was enought for us to run the lights, water pump, fantastic fan, another fantastic fan, called Endless Breeze and all the perhipherals, and i was correct. During a 5 hour stint, our batts are recharged on a daily basis. We camp alot in Ontario Provincial Parks, and as you know, most of the nicer sites near water or tucked out of the way ,,.. have no hydro.
I add to this a smaller 30 watt panel, which i think is a sunforce, by name that powers a inverter/battery pack for a medical divice that i require when i sleep.
I purchased my panel from "solar power canada" on Fleebay .. A dude who runs his business out of Montreal Que, and who has very competative pricing, plus, offers kits including charge controllers wiring and all that stuff. The charge controller is excellent and provides a new style of techology,by pulsing bursts of charges to your battery, instead of just controlling the charge.

hope this helps .. d-mo ..