Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-17-2013, 08:11 PM   #1

Storage options for A124?

Greetings from SC.
We are picking up a 2012 A124 on Friday. I will be pulling with a 4Runner but would like additional storage. Is it possible to use a dual hitch with a rack or box extending back over the tongue? Any advice for a newbie here would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
mcphee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 12:28 AM   #2

Congrats on the new purchase, McPhee! I think in order to answer your question, youd prob want to know what tongue weight your rig could handle. Have you considered utilizin the roof rack on your 4Runner to carry extra stuff?

Here is another option for carrying cargo: http://www.strombergcarlson.com/stor...e=Trailer+Tray

2012 FR Flagstaff T12SDTH
1996 Shadowcruiser Pop Up Truck Camper
1967 Newell Motorcoach
2003 Ford F150 5.4 V8 Triton Super Cab
2004 Nissan Titan LE 5.6 V8 4x4 Crew Cab
handbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 12:44 AM   #3
Professional Curmudgeon

Anything extending from the hitch to over the tongue runs the risk of being crushed between the camper and TV body in a turn.
There is a bit of space behind the battery (usually) that is far enough back that it won't cause an interference problem.
Attaching pipes and such underneath the TT is a very common storage modification.
wrvond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 09:50 AM   #4

A box of any sort attached to the hitch would be a disaster waiting to happen when a tight turn pushed it into the propane tank.

Depending on what you want to carry, there is a surprising amount of space inside the camper. The floor space on a 124 is pretty good and the area on top of the stowed dinette is quite sizable. You can stow all your clothing and coolers inside the camper while you travel, leaving plenty of space inside your TV.