Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2016, 08:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 90
Turn on furnace with no shore power

How do i turn on the furnace without shore power? T21dmhw flagstaff.

Manual says turn it on to heater but says nothing if your not on shore power.
__________________

__________________
glarior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 08:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 149
You should be able to use the propane furnace on DC power. I just used my Rockwood A213HW this past weekend and had no shore power. I was able to use the furnace by using the DC power. Keep in mind, but if you use DC power, it will burn through the battery reserve very quickly if you try to maintain a higher temperature.
__________________

__________________
Brimare57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 08:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 90
Thats what im trying to figure out. Is there an additional button or switch?

I set to furnace at 80 degrees and wouldnt kick on.
__________________
16' T21DMHW - Gone solar - 3/4ton truck to pull it with
glarior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 09:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,194
The furnace is entirely DC operated.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 09:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 10,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by glarior View Post
Thats what im trying to figure out. Is there an additional button or switch?

I set to furnace at 80 degrees and wouldnt kick on.
If your Batt in On and Fully charged,you should be Ready to Go! With a Full propane supply! Youroo!! No "shore Power needed!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 11:18 PM   #6
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 11,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by glarior View Post
How do i turn on the furnace without shore power? T21dmhw flagstaff.

Manual says turn it on to heater but says nothing if your not on shore power.
RV furnaces are 12v DC powered, using propane for heat.
Don't know what kind of thermostat you have but if it's analog, it may have an on/off switch underneath the stat.
Furnace fan is the biggest battery power drain in your trailer.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing an '07 Chevy Avalanche
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 01:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 323
If battery power falls below 9.5 volts the furnace control board will not have enough volts to operate. Your 12 volt lighting may still work but furnace will not with this low battery voltage. Dose the furnace operate with the unit plugged into 120 volt house power?
__________________
TimVWulp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 06:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
kdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 269
Turn on furnace with no shore power

Glarior, check whether the thermostat is set to Auto, or Hi or Lo fan speed. I seem to recall that it makes a difference.

kdot
__________________
Location: Wisconsin
2016 Rockwood A 213 HW
2016 Honda Odyssey
kdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 09:30 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 62
Just an idea, but have you checked your fuses?


2017 A212HW
2016 Ford Explorer TV
The Villages, Florida

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 A212HW
2016 Ford Explorer w/ Tow Package
tjwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 09:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
waiter21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 494
You may have a battery disconnect switch that "disconnects" the battery when you're in storage. These are sometimes labeled USE and STORE


make sure that switch is in USE or whatever position allows battery.

The furnace uses 12 volts for its controller and also the blower. I have a single type 24 battery. I usually don't get more than 12-14 hours of furnace operation, depending how cold it is outside.
__________________

__________________
2001 Coachmen Mirada (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue
It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.