Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2016, 08:43 PM   #1

Water Heater Help - Rockwood A192HW A-Frame

Newbie here . . . I have only been a camper for less than one year. We have a Rockwood A192HW A-frame camper which we love. We travel with other family and rarely if ever need hot water as my son and family usually do all the cooking and we use the campground restrooms for showers. Our camper has the Suburban SW6D water heater which runs on propane only and I have a few questions on use and care. How do I fill the hot water tank if we are hooked up to the water supply at the campground? Do i need to keep water in the tank if we are not using hot water or just keep it empty? Any other advice or maintenance tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-06-2016, 11:03 PM   #2

The way the plumbing is designed is that your water heater will fill up automatically if you are hooked up to a pressurized water connection through your outside city water connection.

The other way is through your fresh water tank and water pump. Once you fill your fresh water tank and turn on your water pump, your water heater will fill up.

You then make sure that your propane tank valve is open and turn on your water heater switch. After a few seconds, you should hear the water heater turn on. It will take about 20 minutes or so to heat the water up.

Many RVers empty their water heater when they get home if they will not be camping for a while, so that water is not just sitting there stagnating for weeks or months. The water heater is emptied by opening the pressure relief valve on the outside top of the heater and then removing the drain plug which is on the outside bottom. You probably have an anode rod attached to the drain plug, which is designed to slowly wear down as it protects the water tank.
2008 Toyota Sequoia 2WD
Big Vic is offline   Reply With Quote