Old 10-30-2011, 02:49 PM   #1

Winterizing the A-frame campers

Need some advice from some of you experts out there - what are the steps to take to winterize our A128? Needless to say, the manual is useless. We had a tt in the past and all the setup for easy winterization. But, this one is different - has the filter (and what about that thing at the floor under the sink - sediment filter?) Any advise/how to would be greatly appreciated. Just don't want to overlook something that needs to be done and have to pay dearly in the spring.

Old 10-30-2011, 06:46 PM   #2
Mostly Harmless

Here's what I've done with my 128, hope it helps--I'm no expert at this.
Drained water heater, put the anode back in to keep rust out, turned the water heater bypass valves all to bypass position.
Took out the large water filter, took it in the house to dry out. Then it can stay in the camper (but not installed) for the winter. The small screen filter in the water pump intake line can stay--it emptied when the lines drained.
Drained fresh water tank, opened faucets (including the outside shower faucets), opened the low point drains in the water lines. Left them open a day or two.
Installed a bypass valve in the input line to the water pump so I could fill the lines with antifreeze without also having to fill the freshwater tank. Thus, used just over a gallon of antifreeze instead of the estimated 7 to 10 gallons needed otherwise. Then used the water pump to pump the lines full of antifreeze, including the lines to the outside faucets, and put about a cup of antifreeze down the sink drain.
Left faucets and drain closed. Shut off water pump (I almost forgot this ).
Took all the cushions in the house for the winter.( Not sure this is necessary but used to do it with our sailboat.)
Inspected caulk joints and repaired a couple.