Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2014, 11:50 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 59
Call from Alko Manufacturing

Received a call from Alko on Wednesday of this week. The rep told me I would receive a letter and technical bulletin regarding the bolts on our axles. Told me to take it to a dealer and have the torque checked on all bolts. This will be at no cost. He told me there are 16 bolts all of which should be torqued to 100 ft lbs. Told me it is a simple process. Was going to do it myself, but decided better to take to a dealer just in case there is a problem later down the line. I have a 2014 Trilogy Touring, purchased in May of this year.

We are not traveling now so I am waiting on the letter. Thought I would pass this on for other with the same coach who may be moving around. Do not know if this applies to all 2014 coaches or not (Trilogy and Trilogy Touring).


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
retamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 02:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
gauchoverde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 146
I also have a 2014 trilogy touring with Alko axles. Maybe I missed it but what is the problem with your axles?
__________________

__________________
gauchoverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 02:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 59
Possible loose bolts where axle attaches to frame.
__________________
retamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 03:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 862
I got that same phone call from Dynamax. I will go and check the torque myself and then take it to a dealer, might be nothing who knows. Seems like the torque on the U-bolts varies between axle type.
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Oklahoma
Posts: 235
I too received the call from Alco. I was surprised that they called me because I had the MOR/ryde Independent Suspension system installed when I ordered the Trilogy. Odd that Dynamax did not pass that on to Alco...

John
__________________
2014 Dynamax Trilogy 3850RL - South Hampton Interior, Full Body Paint (Black / Silver / White), MOR/ryde Independent Suspension, MOR/ryde Disc Brakes, ONAN 5500 Generator, Progressive Industries HW50C w/Dual Display, Winegard HD Dish w/DirecTV, Washer & Dryer, iSprings 7-stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filter, Trail-Air Flex Air Pin Box, Third AC installed, AC Voltage/Amp Meters, DC Amp Meter, Garnett See Level Tank Sensors, TST 507 TPMS
Retired USAF - Full Timers!
John Hagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 37
I've got Lippert axles. My brakes are completely screwed up. Lippert won't pay to fix them unless I buy the parts first. I wish I had Alko axles.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 08:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1406290389.189115.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	838.5 KB
ID:	58956
Make sure you have your wheel bearing checked. I always spin my wheels when the stabilizers are down just before I depart and listen for noise. Last week I lost a wheel going down the highway just about 10 miles after I left.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
dnovak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 10:10 AM   #8
Incheon, S. Korea
 
BigBaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Incheon, South Korea
Posts: 1,140
Did you find the hub? It looks like it ripped right off the axle!
__________________
Me, Julie, Lil' Barry, Faith, and OSDs, Fang and Treaty
2003 Hyundai Starex (H1), 2012 Coachmen Clipper 126
I don't know when we'll be able to go camping again...
BigBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 11:07 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
I did, wheel plus hub little heavy, alko is replacing the complete axle. I hope to get it today, the coach has been in sf all week.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
dnovak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 02:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 59
Checked the nuts on the axle bolts. Of the sixteen nuts, only five were at the proper torque (100 ft lbs). In fact six required several pulls on the torque wrench to get them tightened properly. Still plan to take to a dealer just in case something happens down the road (no pun intended).


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
retamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.