Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2013, 05:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
Fixed my furnace

I was tired of my furnace coming on just because I set the thermostat more than 5 degrees above room temp. I added a switch to the white wire so I can regulate when it comes on.

You will need a switch, a cover plate, a low voltage open box and some way to cut the hole. Be careful when cutting the hole as there are wires in the wall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20131226_114422.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	44202   Click image for larger version

Name:	20131226_114707.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	50.1 KB
ID:	44203  
__________________

__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:10 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,793
My thermostat has an "off" position. Did yours not have one?
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
Yes but that turns off both the furnace and heat pump. I want to prevent the furnace from running just because of the temp difference between the room temp and the set temp
__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:14 PM   #4
Working the Life
 
KD Nolte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Langdon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 73
Is this to turn off only the furnace and let the Heat Pump run?
I have this issue on my unit and had read in the manual that the heat pump was to try three times for 20 minuted before turning on the Furnace.
Isn't this why the thermostat has a Gas or Electric switch?
__________________
2013 Dynamax Trilogy 3800D3 (Feb 2013)
2014 Sierra Denali 3500 DRW

KD Nolte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
It stops the propane furnace from starting you must cut the white wire. Not the white with black stripe also go by the wires connected to thermostat. The heat pump still works. What you read was about hoe if the heat pump can't maintain the temp after 3 events it will switch to furnace as primary. If the temp is going to be too low for heat pump I will turn on switch. It is going to be 20 f tonight. Switch goes on. Primary purpose is to prevent furnace from starting if I raise thermostat more than 4 degrees over room temp. Let the heat pump do its job. This is also in prep for programmable thermostat
__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:10 AM   #6
Working the Life
 
KD Nolte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Langdon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 73
Thanks for the post.
Is anyone aware of a different Thermostat that works with both the heat pump and the furnace that will function better?
There must be a style that enables you to run either forms of heating mode independently.
While we are on the subject of Thermostats, has anyone installed thermostat for the Fireplace?

Happy Holidays
KD
__________________
2013 Dynamax Trilogy 3800D3 (Feb 2013)
2014 Sierra Denali 3500 DRW

KD Nolte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:32 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
I'm at a loss as to why you would turn the thermostat up above room temp, if you didn't want the heat to come on.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:41 AM   #8
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priusron View Post
Yes but that turns off both the furnace and heat pump. I want to prevent the furnace from running just because of the temp difference between the room temp and the set temp
Ohhh, ok- I'm glad I asked. With not having a heat pump, I didn't think of them or really even understand the difference. I think the Dometics have some Heat Pump setting specifically for controlling it (I think I've noticed it in the manual). But no idea how it works.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
I'm at a loss as to why you would turn the thermostat up above room temp, if you didn't want the heat to come on.
I want to use the heat pump but not the furnace. Last night the heat pump and 2 space heaters kept the temp above 62 with outside temp at 20. I have computer fans blowing in a floor register to keep the pipes from freezing. Without the switch I would be using the furnace too and using propane
__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 03:35 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priusron View Post
I want to use the heat pump but not the furnace. Last night the heat pump and 2 space heaters kept the temp above 62 with outside temp at 20. I have computer fans blowing in a floor register to keep the pipes from freezing. Without the switch I would be using the furnace too and using propane
Priusron, I must be misunderstanding your posts on this? It's my understanding that it must be above 40-something F for the heat pump to work at all?

Sherry
__________________

__________________
WestWardHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.