Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 09:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
Reverse Osmosis

I wanted to add reverse osmosis to my trilogy. I had decided to add it only to the refrigerator. After dropping the bottom cover I discovered how easy it would be to run it to the kitchen island so I added the faucet for cooking water. I plumbed the waste back to the fresh water tank to not fill up my grey water tank. I plan to use my fresh water tank to keep the pump working good. I will also modify my system by adding a valve between the supply and waste so I can fill my fresh water tank without messing with hoses and tubing. I took the supply from the tubing to the refrigerator.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140113_163108[1].jpg
Views:	80
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	45198  
__________________

__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 09:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
I also added a valve on each side of my pump so I can remove my pump without draining my tank or turning off the water.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140113_154209[1].jpg
Views:	89
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	45200  
__________________

__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:05 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
This seems like quite the setup you have here. I have never seen it being done like this before with any water filter, let along a reverse osmosis system. But I don't understand why you are pumping the waste water into your fresh water tank. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of using a reverse osmosis system.
__________________
AdamM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
JohnF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 579
Dumping the RO waste into the fresh water tank will work. Many commercial RO systems recycle a percentage of waste back through the system to reduce water usage. An RO system like the one pictured can use 3 gallons to make one. I would expect your pump to run a lot until the storage tank of the RO fills.
__________________
Ohio
2016 Cedar Creek 36ckts
2015 Ford F-350
4WD SRW Diesel
JohnF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:20 PM   #5
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priusron View Post
I also added a valve on each side of my pump so I can remove my pump without draining my tank or turning off the water.

not if you drink the RO tank water
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 109
My current pump is not for use with to systems. There a ways to make your ro more efficient such as a high pressure pump, high pressure relief valve and a permeate pump. My plan is to use water from the tank I will refill as needed. This will dilute the water in the tank. You can actually run the water through multiple timed. Some systems run it through up to 6 membranes. I will add a second membrane to my system.
__________________

__________________
Priusron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.