Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-22-2017, 10:26 PM   #1

Cheap Heat System

We read some on this forum from 2011 about the Cheap Heat System, mostly in a negative vein. We are considering adding the cheap heat. Our RV did not come with heat pumps and the dealer states heat strips cannot be added to our AC. Propane now costs much more than it did 6 years ago. It certainly helps us have a smaller footprint for the environment.

We have a fireplace and three space heaters. I am tired of tripping over cords. We have family here so we can't run south for the winter.

Has anyone added the Cheap Heat system and has it worked out like you expected?
Freebirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 11:00 PM   #2
Always Learning

I don’t have it but I’d happily install it IF I knew I was keeping this rig. I’ve been threatening to sell it for a couple of years now and can’t bring myself to spend the $1,500 on the Cheap Heat system.

The few reviews from actual users are all positive. Most of the negative are folks who won’t install it for their reasons.
Old 12-22-2017, 11:55 PM   #3

I can buy a LOT of propane for $1500.

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 12:09 AM   #4

If I was really that worried about my carbon footprint, I would definitely find another hobby other than RVing
Reese Fifth Airborne Sidewinder
NMWildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 12:50 AM   #5
Always Learning

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
I can buy a LOT of propane for $1500.

Depends on your use- we tend to go through a tank every 3 days with moderately cold weather (40 degree days, 30 degrees nights).

Space heaters are a hassle to have sitting around (and remotely a fire danger).