Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2013, 08:05 PM   #1

Propane tank fuel gauge read-out discrepancy

We have just bought a new Solera and are currently having fun on a shakedown trip. However, I have found a large discrepancy between the fuel tank indicator in the motorhome's cabin and the gauge on the propane tank. The cabin indicator shows the tank at 2/3 full, while the tank gauge shows 1/4 full. I expect the tank gauge is accurate, but it's disappointing not to have a good reading in the cabin.

Is this kind of discrepancy to be expected? (We are absolute newbies to RVing.) Is it something that can be easily fixed (e.g., by recalibrating the cabin indicator)? I'll check with our RV dealer. But it would be nice to have some information before going in.

Any and all suggestions/information will be appreciated. Thanks.

Chris
Chris Weller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:48 PM   #2
Explorer

My two cents, for what its worth
I believe the only true way to know the amount of propane in a tank is to weigh it. There are many indicators sold to help with propane amount(in-line gauge, strip on side) and the people I know who use these other types say when it says ½ full you don’t have much propane left. They use these gauges as indicators and learn to understand them with their own experience. Temperature also has to do with propane, the colder it is the less pressure you get out of a tank. I believe some winterized campers have heat ducts in the propane storage compartments to help with this.
I remembered another one: I have heard some poor water on their tank, while in use, and can see how full the tank is. I believe it frosts up to the level of propane.