Forest River Forums
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Forest River Forums > Forest River Community Forums > Forest River FAQs > Winterizing

Old 08-20-2012, 07:53 AM   #1

Request for Winterization & De-winterization Instructions

Since I am relatively new to the travel trailer lifestyle, does anyone have complete/detailed winterization and de-winterization instructions for a Rockwood 8311SS Travel Trailer? The trailer is on a seasonal site and will remain there over the winter and has the black/grey water hooked (through rigid PVC pipe) to an on-site waste water holding tank. As well, since it is in a region of harsh climates (sometimes reaching temperatures of -40 degrees Celsius in the winter with lots of snow), should I be tarping the roof of the trailer? Your assistance in regards to this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. Brian

Old 08-20-2012, 08:02 AM   #2

I do both methods and if you have a black tank flush don't forget to do that.

Compressed Air (Dry) Method: 1

Uses compressed air to blow out any remaining water in the system after draining it of all water out of the campers water system. This method requires an air compressor and appropriate adapters.

RV Anti-Freeze (Wet) Method: 2

Uses, RV approved, nontoxic potable anti-freeze in the system and does not require any special tools.

Method 1 Compressed Air

1. Purchase 1-2 gallons of RV non-toxic anti-freeze.
2. Drain the fresh water tank and empty the waste water holding tanks*
3. Turn water heater by-pass valve to by-pass position.
4. Drain water heater.
5. If installed, remove water filter from assembly and discard. Install diverter if included.
6. Open all faucets including showerhead, sprayer, toilet flushing device and any other water lines that are closed.
7. Turn on the water pump for 30 seconds to clear out any water in the lines.
8. Connect an air hose with an adapter to the city water fill connection.