Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2015, 11:00 AM   #1

Brand New Fifth Wheel with tear in roof!!

Hello All, This is my first time posting in this forum. We just purchased a 2015 Cedar Creek Silverback 37BH approx. 2 weeks ago.

What should be a happy time for me is not and I'm sick to my stomach!

My husband installed a max air vent cover and while he was doing so he looked over and saw a 1/2" tear in the rubber roof. Located over the main bedroom where the aluminum meets the plywood.

He immediately went to get sealant and applied it. I called the dealer and their response was, well that's all they would pretty much do as well. I said, so what about the winter season we had with over 4 feet of snow, plus all the rain we had. I'm very concerned and it's a brand new fifth wheel. Their response, well, you can make an appt. to bring it in.

I made appt. but feel very uneasy and sick about the whole thing. I have no idea how to go about this. We just spent $60,000 on this unit that now is potentially rotting away inside.

Can someone please steer me in the right direction? I feel this is completely unacceptable and wrong.

We did look over the unit, however, it was parked inside. My husband did climb up there, but couldn't walk the roof due to being inside. when we hooked up outside we were soo excited that we forgot to go back up there to look at it.

Thanks in advance for any information,
Melissa
Silverback37BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 11:28 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Yeah say it's a tear?
You know for sure you didn't hit a tree branch?
I find it hard to believe that forest river nor the dealer wouldn't have seen it.
But since no one inspected it during delivery I guess it's hard to say.
I hope there wasn't to much water damage!