Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Installing 2nd AC in bedroom, existing vent removal?

I will be installing a 13500 in the bedroom on our 2013 Sabre 32bhok this weekend, it is factory prepped and I have located the electrical and thermostat wiring, I just need to know if anyone has any information on the proper way to remove the existing 14x14 vent frame that is currently attached to the roof. I'm not sure how it is actually attached. Thanks
__________________

__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:13 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Remove the inside cover (usually 4 screws) then attack the roof. A heat gun and a plastic putty knife will help remove the caulking around the vent. Once removed and cleaned up, you can remove the screws that hold the vent on. Getting the caulking off is the toughest part of the whole job.
__________________

__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:38 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
Remove the inside cover (usually 4 screws) then attack the roof. A heat gun and a plastic putty knife will help remove the caulking around the vent. Once removed and cleaned up, you can remove the screws that hold the vent on. Getting the caulking off is the toughest part of the whole job.
I agree!

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Thanks guys, I've removed the shroud from the inside and looked around, I was just unsure about how to go about removing the roof mounted piece without messing something up, I guess the new ac gasket will end up being outside the area where the vent was.
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:16 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjones1969 View Post
Thanks guys, I've removed the shroud from the inside and looked around, I was just unsure about how to go about removing the roof mounted piece without messing something up, I guess the new ac gasket will end up being outside the area where the vent was.
As Timmy said a heat gun and plastic putty knife works great.
I replaced my vent with a fantastic fan in our bedroom and once I got all the dicor off the screws we're right there.


TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:29 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjones1969 View Post
Thanks guys, I've removed the shroud from the inside and looked around, I was just unsure about how to go about removing the roof mounted piece without messing something up, I guess the new ac gasket will end up being outside the area where the vent was.
My AC install called for putting a bead of Dicor around the gasket, which I did. My roof was cut a bit to the extreme outer edges of my gasket, and I put some extra Dicor around that area. I have a new gasket and I'm going to pull the AC off this weekend, just to make sure all is good, since you really can't see under the AC.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:04 AM   #7
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
How are you wiring that 2nd AC?
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 03:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by donanddona View Post
How are you wiring that 2nd AC?

It was factory prepped already
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 03:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Done, hardest part was getting the existing vent off, kudos to that factory worker, I hope he is the one that sealed all my roof penetrations.

Only thing that threw me for a loop was the 12VDC From and To connections, finally figured it out, had to tap into the wiring from a nearby light, other than that it went real smooth


Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1400960364.704544.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	418.8 KB
ID:	53168
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1400960403.214516.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	907.8 KB
ID:	53169
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1400960418.408184.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	806.2 KB
ID:	53170
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 03:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,615
Did you match a/c's ? Before you install I would recommend you put in a hard start and a time delay so both do not start at the same time. Easier to do on the ground. Turbo had a thread yesterday when the guy's genny had problems on start up. Total cost would only be like $25.00 bucks or so. Then you will have no worries at all. Just a suggestion to you. Good luck on the install. I Wasn't smart enough to get 2 , but mine was bought off the lot with just one not prewired. Never mind I see it done already, but I still would add those to your unit. Your picture posted as I was writing.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed, roo, vent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.