Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2019, 04:55 PM   #1

Roof mounted ladder rack

I just bought a new ladder rack for my 2011 21’ wildwood travel trailer. How do I find the roof rafters to mount the brackets to. I’m a construction contractor but RV framing & construction is quite different from house construction. Any thoughts?
Thanks for any insight.
Tonyg2724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 05:53 PM   #2
Site Team

If there wasn't a ladder standard or optional, there is no factory backing for the lasder.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:17 PM   #3

Not necessarily true sir bikendan. My '15 Freedom Express did not come with a ladder. Dealer didn't mention installing one and I didn't ask. I sent an email to Forest River asking for info on mounting a ladder. They sent me a printed diagram of how the rear wall was constructed. My unit has aluminum framing but the print showed that there were two (2) 2x4's mounted sideways in the back wall. The print shows construction as you would see standing inside the rear bunk room. Careful measuring on the inside then transposed to the outside and I found the studs easily. I confirmed stud by drilling very small holes through the fiberglass until wood chips came out. I mounted the ladder and all has been well since

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:28 PM   #4