Old 10-11-2012, 01:02 PM   #1

small hole in roof and corner seal damage

Hi all,

This is our first season with the TT (255RS) so I am still learning. On a recent roof inspection, I noticed a pen tip size hole in the roof. It is near the edge of the camper. Based on some reading here, is Dicor Lap sealant my quick fix here?

My next issue I can't explain. I have the camper in a barn and recently noticed damage to the rear left corner. It looks like the metal(I think it is metal) trim pulled away and then went back - somewhat. I have no idea how it happened. My plan was to fix the metal that is overlapped and I assumed I would seal it but silicone appears to be discouraged. Can anyone give me an idea of how to fix this? Also, is there a way that this could have happened with the slide out? Other than hitting something, I cant tell how this would have happened. I have not hit anything to my knowledge.

Thanks for any help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120930_161032_1024x768.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	20541   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120930_161044_1024x768.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	20542   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120930_161056_1024x768.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	20543  

Old 10-11-2012, 01:31 PM   #2
Dallas Texas

For the roof use the Dicor self leveling sealant. If it's on a vertical portion of the roof get the Dicor non-leveling sealant. Once you put it down you can mold it/shape the bead with your finger. Just be sure to dip your finger in some soapy water so you don't get it all over yourself. It's very tacky.

For most other caulking requirements use Proflex RV caulk.

Old 10-11-2012, 06:10 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I went around the corners and saw some cracking in the seals that was there and used the Dicor on it. Nothing big though.