Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-12-2013, 10:03 AM   #1

To cover or not

I'm new to the travel trailer game and I was wondering what should be done when I'm storing my camper for the winter? Cover the trailer or not? I have searched and get opinions for both! So weigh in and tell me what you think!
Old 10-12-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

I have done both and like to cover after thoroughly washing the camper and recaulking as needed. I think there is probably an almost equal split between those who do and those who don't use a cover.

In general, any cover you use needs to be a good fitted cover that will breathe. The two keys are "fitted" and "breathe". Fitted covers will reduce or eliminate the problem with wind blowing the cover and causing the finish to rub off in areas. Breatheability is important to let the moisture out. Never use a plastic tarp.

Our ADCO goes on and comes off fairly easily. Its a one-man job at our house. Tip - We use tennis balls on the down spouts, which helps the cover to both go on and come off smoothly without snags or broken bits.

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:37 PM   #3
DW's 401(k) Plan

Vote to Cover

I don't live too far from you, Ruger77 - about the 40 milepost of I-68 in MD, maybe 75 miles. So, our weather is pretty much the same.
While we never covered our Roo 23SS in the 5 years we owned it, we did have it stored under roof during the winter a couple of those years. The other years it sat in our driveway uncovered.
With our new Flagstaff, we've decided to cover it even if it is stored under roof. I've been looking at an ADCO - but there are other options out there. This trailer is, hopefully, our last and we need to not only protect the roof, but the whole exterior when it is totally exposed to the elements.

Larry