Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-28-2016, 08:08 PM   #1

Dometic awning blowing fuses in retract

Hello All,

Newbie here... Wife and I just bought a Mini Lite 2509S last week in anticipation of a family reunion camping trip for the TG holiday. Arrived at campground, set up was a breeze... Awning extended fine, and retracted fine for the couple seconds that i hit retract to bring back to the ideal position.

Come Sunday, time to leave... awning won't retract when pressing switch, and interior lights won't turn on from main control panel. Check fuse... blown. Replace fuse, and hit extend... works fine. Hit retract again, fuse blows. This was all on Shore Power. Removed the two allen screws per dometics user guide to roll in the awning expecting a large amount of spring action to roll up (also per dometic user guide), but the thing didn't roll at all. I ended up rolling it up by hand (wasn't difficult at all, but it didn't roll by itself without me helping it). After reading a few related threads on the forum, i tried pressing the retract button again, but this time with the motor unplugged to see if the fuse still pops, and of course it does. The interior lights worked flawlessly with the new fuse, no dimming or flickering. This was on on-board battery power, fully charged. I haven't taken the control panel off to check the connections on the switch itself... that remains for another day.