Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 01:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marshfield, Wisconsin
Posts: 8
Question Cirucit breaker for slide out

2006 Salem Le:: Does anyone know if I have a 110 volt hooked up and a 12volt hooked up at the same time, and my slide doesnt work, and the circuit breaker is tripped, would there still show power to my motor for the slide out? It says there is power when I hook a trester up to the motor,but nothing happens. I was told to check the circuit reset button under the a frame by the battery,but if the testeer says there is power to the motor wouldnt the circuit breaker be fine? It has a hydraulic motor,not electric?
__________________

__________________
fishfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 02:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Hi fishfrey. There isn't-(at least I couldn't find one) a circuit breaker for the slide outs. The power to the motor- at least on mine is 12v regardless of AC hookup, or battery power. Your wfco converter converts the AC shore power over to 12v anyway, for almost everything, except the micro and the Air Conditioning. Under the frame just behind the tongue, in a GREEN plastic watertight seal,(follow the wire), is the FUSE, should be a 30 amp automotive style bayonet connector fuse. This fuse is designed to blow in the event of a power surge, or a short in the lines. I know on mine, the whole slide out system is electric motors- 12v, and there is NO hydraulic hoses or fluids involved. I think power is supplied to those motors from another source, and the switch is what is fused, controlling the motors. I pulled EVERY fuse out of the converter panel when mine tripped, and all were good. Then I climbed around under the camper, and found those green fuse holders, opened them up, and sure enough, had one bad. Replaced it, and been great ever since. Hope this helps
__________________

__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 03:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Also, there is a junction block on the frame- same area under and behind the tongue, that has a small reset button to push in the middle of the block.(follow battery wires to this block, has nuts bolting the wire terminals on) Mine was corroded, 3 months old, took it in to the dealer, and they found/replaced that. I had no 12v power inside, but hooked to AC power, everything worked. Turned out the battery wires that go to the converter via that junction block was the culprit!
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Baltimore Md.
Posts: 87
Fihfrey, the electric motor powers the hydraulic pump. I am willing to bet you your battery is not fully charged. The slide motor reguires a fully charged battery. The inverter alone does not have enough umph. That is why you may have blown a fuse or tripped a breaker. Also check all of your connections and make sure they are not corroded. Take a regular deep cycle charger and charge your battery.

Charlie
__________________
Papa Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 08:33 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfrey View Post
, and my slide doesnt work, and the circuit breaker is tripped
Which circuit breaker is tripped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfrey View Post
would there still show power to my motor for the slide out? It says there is power when I hook a trester up to the motor,but nothing happens.
If you're getting power to the motor the circuit breaker isn't the problem. How many volts are you reading?

It sounds like the motor is bad. Is it making any kind of noise when trying to actuate the slide(s)? Have you checked the hydraulic oil level?

I agree that it could be a discharged or bad battery. Charge the battery an take it and have it tested then report back.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 09:47 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marshfield, Wisconsin
Posts: 8
I will report back in two weeks (june 8th) I sure hope it is something simple like a dead battery! Thanks to all that replied!!!!
__________________

__________________
fishfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.