Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-09-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Graduate Member

Drove with slide out, now misaligned

This is painful to write...but here we go. Our first camp trip (not just to the in-laws) required us to camp, then drive to Mall of America during the day, and back to camp in the evenings.

Before one of the short trips, wife decides to help with the LR slide. She hits the button and doesn't notice that a) it's the slide OUT button, or b) that the slide is moving OUT by a couple inches.

My fault for not noticing - total newbie mistake.

We don't get above about 50mph on the way to camp, and it's only a few miles - but that seems enough. The slide would "catch" 2-3 times when you moved it - both in and out. That sound of the gear clicking when the slide is already all the way in and you're still pressing the button - just like that but a little louder.

So we attempt to push it "forward", when it's extended on the theory that the wind caught those couple inches sticking out and shifted the slide back toward the rear. It has gotten better, but now "misses" 2-3 times per slide in or out. Motor still working, the slide just pauses and after a few seconds recatches and continues on.

I've searched the forum and nobody else has posted a similar issue (or fessed up to it). I THINK I've found the two adjustment bolts, but they are a hot rusted mess and didn't move, although I was a little scared to put my back into it.

One of the bolts through one of the guide bars is freshly sheared - the hex shape is now smooshed on one side.

I'll post pics in a bit, but wanted to get this typed out while I have time.

So my question is - is this a dealer fix or something I can do at home?

And if it's a dealer fix, please tell me I didn't just make a several thousand dollar stupid mistake.