Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 07:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Motor for slide won't start

Hi there, I'm having this problem with the motor for my slideout. This is what I've tried, The motor has been removed and tested , it works fine, I have no fuses blown, I have power at the Switch, I was told that there is a link of some kind attached to the underside of the chassis, and this may very well be the problem, My problem is that I cannot see this link. Does anyone know where this link would be located before removing the under panel on the chassis?
__________________

Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:18 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,470
Well, here is the thing James.

When you do not set up your profile and/or your signature to show year make and model we have nothing to go on. We do want to help, but there are many slide systems out there.

If you elect not to put that information in your posts (so we always know what equipment you are talking about), at least put that information in your post.
Herk
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:29 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Sorry About that, I'll remember that for the next time. I have a Forest River Surveyor SV291
Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:37 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,470
OK, I think that is an electric only slide.

When you say you have no fuses blown, where did you check? The fuse for the main slide is NOT with all the other fuses. It is on a pigtail fuse holder or reset-able current limiter located within 18 inches (or so) of the battery.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	360426586.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	21667  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:39 AM   #5
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesrk View Post
Sorry About that, I'll remember that for the next time. I have a Forest River Surveyor SV291
Year would also be beneficial as equipment changes from year to year. Also the make of the slide out mechanism would be helpful.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:54 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
The year is 2012. I do have power at the switch would there be another limiter between the switch and the motor?
Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
I have checked the fuses near the battery and in the main circuit box inside.
Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:47 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,470
I missed the "power at the switch"; sorry.

The only other thing I can think of is the slide seal being "stuck" to the wall.
Using a PLASTIC cake spatula, run it around the slide to make sure the plastic seal is actually free from the wall.

I blew my fuse trying to open mine when water from a storm froze the slide to the wall.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:30 PM   #9
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I missed the "power at the switch"; sorry.

The only other thing I can think of is the slide seal being "stuck" to the wall.
Using a PLASTIC cake spatula, run it around the slide to make sure the plastic seal is actually free from the wall.

I blew my fuse trying to open mine when water from a storm froze the slide to the wall.
Hope you learned a lesson Herk, stay the heck out of any area where it freezes.

Did you blow your fuse or the one to the slide motor or both?
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:32 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesrk
The year is 2012. I do have power at the switch would there be another limiter between the switch and the motor?
No limiter maybe connection?
Since the slide moves free of the coach, and could be removed, is there junction box or connector to make up the leads?(coach to slide) I assume when you had power "at the switch" it was not available at the open motor connections.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:24 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
That's right I have power at the switch but nothing at the motor, the fuses I've checked are between the battery and the switch i assume, because the undercarriage is sealed I was hoping that someone would know the location of such a limiter switch or junction box. The slide works fine manually with a socket or a cordless drill.
Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesrk View Post
That's right I have power at the switch but nothing at the motor, the fuses I've checked are between the battery and the switch i assume, because the undercarriage is sealed I was hoping that someone would know the location of such a limiter switch or junction box. The slide works fine manually with a socket or a cordless drill.
Check under the slide, mine has telecoping tubes leading to outside wall. JBs must be just inside of the tubes, or at wall. Not easy to reach but they did! Nothing else use a pierce voltmeter probe and check wires along lenth for power.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:02 PM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,470
You must have pinched the wire under the belly. In my camper there is nothing but a two wire cable from the switch to the motor.

Sounds like you will need to trace that wire.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:16 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks everyone for the advice, I'll trace the wire, from what I can see the two leads runs from the slide, underneath the sink and counter to the bathroom from there I'm not sure gonna have to remove some panels. I'll give you an update the next time I'm on site to check it out, may take some pics of the setup.
__________________

Jamesrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


×