Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2019, 04:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Slide not working by remote

We have a 2017 wildwood travel trailer with the lippert remote for the slide/awning etc.

The slide is working using the switch inside. But it doesnít work off the remote control. (It used to work off the remote just fine)

And I can hear the receiving unit near my breaker box inside clicking when I push the button but the slide doesnít move.

Ideas?
__________________

redwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,208
i spent some time a few months ago diagnosing a problem with the lippert slide / awning / light remote. there is a control unit that has fuses for each item it controls (slide / awning / light). it also receives a control signal from either the hardwired switches or the remote unit. if it gets a signal from either source it performs the requested action. the fact that you say the slides operate from the hardwired switch tells me the control unit and house batteries are probably ok. so the issue seems to be getting the signal from the remote to the control unit. i replaced the battery in the remote. it was a cylindrical battery shorter than a AAA battery. but i think it was about 10 volts. it may be weak. also i found that even with the new battery the remote had limited range. you might try to get it to work from various locations within and outside the trailer to see if this is the problem. of course, something could have broken.
__________________

__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:19 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Other functions work and I can hear a clicking noise near my breaker box when I push the slide buttons
redwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,208
Don’t know. As best as I could determine the output (the power that actually activated the devices) is common. The only difference is the control board scan receive an input signal from either the hardwired switches or the remote. It might be worth some research to get a troubleshooting guide or a call to lippett
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 10:53 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,071
The remote receiver (clicking thing near the breaker box) has fuses and most likely the fuse for the slide is blown. You'll need to access that receiver to test them.

The power for the manual switches and the remote receiver are completely separate, so one can work and the other not.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 12:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,208
That was not my experience. Of course we maybe talking about different control units. I could not get a porch light to come on. It Isco trolled by either a hardwired switch or the remote. The control unit had a fuse in it labeled light. I pulled that fuse and tested it. It was blown. Replaced it with a new fuse and the I could turn the light on / off using either the hardwired switch or the remote. There is also a single fuse for the slide and awning. This is what leads me to say the the output side is common. There are a couple of other fuses in the control unit. Check them. They may control power to the receiver section. If it was out the receiver might not be working. I don’t know. Just s guess.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 12:49 PM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,071
The porch light is wired differently than the other devices on the receiver. Sounds like yours was wired correctly. One anomaly about the porch light on a lot of units, is that if you turn it on with the remote you can't turn it off with the manual switch and vise-versa.

The way the other functions are supposed to be wired is that they have separate power supplies, but a common negative. Then the receiver breaks the negative to the manual switches so that the switch and the remote can't operate the function at the same time. However, I've never seen one actually wired that way. They just run remote power and manual power to the device and don't run the negatives through the receiver, and hope that you never try to operate them at the same time in opposite directions.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 05:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,484
This is a pic of the control unit on my 2017 27RLSS. You don't mention your specific model but on mine this controller is mounted below the kitchen sink. You most likely have a blown fuse on the control unit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RemoteControls.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	297.1 KB
ID:	204030  
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 11:10 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
the clicking when u activate the remote is the remote closing the relay for the slide. The large amperage side of the relay is not receiving power probably because you have a blown fure which supplies that power
wally007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 11:41 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
The control board on my trailer was under the breaker/fuse box and converter in an access panel.

I found one of two fuses for the main slide blown. I also found my porch light never worked from the remote because it didnít have a fuse installed at all.

Installed one replaced one now they both work from the remote.

Thank you for letting me know the remote receiver had a separate set of fuses. I never considered that.
redwake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,484
Thanks for letting us know you found the problem.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 10:28 AM   #12
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,071
X2 .. Thanks for coming back and letting us know that you found the receiver and got your problem solved.

If you have time, please add your RV and the receiver location to this thread.
Where is your remote receiver/hub
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
remote, slide

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


×