Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2017, 03:21 PM   #1

slide out awning

Newbie here, Just purchased our first camper. Rockwood mini lite. It has a slide out. People have said to have awning installed over slide out. Yes or no? And reason why

Thanks Scott:
hoogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 03:39 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoogy View Post
Newbie here, Just purchased our first camper. Rockwood mini lite. It has a slide out. People have said to have awning installed over slide out. Yes or no? And reason why
absolutely YES, .... stuff(leaves, pine cones, sticks, acorns, pecans, pine straw, snow, ect.) can and will get up there, ... if you don't clean it off before bringing in the slide, you will drag that stuff thru the seal into the camper, ... the awning will prevent that, ... makes sense to me, but there are always folks who claim to have been camping forever and "never have and never will" use an awning, ... when someone says that I know they've never camped where we do, OR, they actually do climb up on top and sweep it off every time before bringing in the slide, OR they don't care and actually do drag anything up there thru the seal into the camper, ... I had to climb up and sweep every time for about four months before I could install our slide awing, ... so the call is yours, but I say yes .......

fella10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 03:57 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by fella10 View Post