Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-28-2013, 08:14 PM   #1
on_the_bayou

Slideout twist

When I started to close the doorside slideout on my fiver, It started in about 6 inch then started to twist. Then I tried to open the slideout it twisted the other way. I have a Prime Time 290RLT Crusader. The slide is a Lippert Electric System. I do not see how to manually close the slideout.
Any help would be appreciated.
PrimeTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:43 PM   #2

sounds like one side is not being drivin.. maybe a loose set screw on the gear? can you push on the dead side while someone else presses the button.
davidjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:47 PM   #3
on_the_bayou

Tried that. The slideout won't move.
Old 01-28-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
Graduate Member

I'm no expert, but it looks like you're needing a solution sooner than later. In my humble experience with slides, there is a bolt either under the slide or on the opposite side of the RV. Turning the bolt is the manual method.

Search this forum for better instructions, and also google search for Lippert Components - they have all their manuals online which also instruct how to manually move their slides (hoping you have a lippert, cuz I don't know any other brand names)

But more than likely a quick search of FRF and you'll have it.
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:28 PM   #5
H2oski

Look in the files section in the green bar at the top of the page, I think your manual is there. Have you looked under your slide? There is a square bar between the two drive gears. Is it turning both drive gears? If it is it sounds like one of the drive gears are stripped. Sorry can't give yuo much more info.
(LA) Lower Alabama
h20ski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:51 PM   #6
William