Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2013, 10:14 PM   #11
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkreck View Post
I didn't think there would be but didn't want to do something that could cause damage. I would think it would work better providing more amp's to the rig to run things?
That's not how it works. You will only get 30 amps past your RV's main breaker.
__________________

__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by life2short4nofun View Post
I never have had a 30amp coach but have met several people plugged into 50amp plug with a 30amp coach using the adapter with no problems.
Only problem with this is, if the 30A breaker in the RV fails to clear in an overload situ, the shore won't open till over 50 amps is reached. Something will smoke in the meantime. Your cord or your dist panel, just buyer beware.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:12 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
hkreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,190
OK thanks guys this is what I'm trying to find out before I hook up to one. The forum and youtube are the best places I know to find info. Keep it coming. Happy Independence Day. 4th of July.
__________________
Henry & Tena
2013 Solera 24S
The Great Escape
hkreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:48 AM   #14
Love My Sunseeker
 
DXSMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 788
My question fits the title of this thread. An electrician at an RV park told me that it's ok for 50 amp rigs to use 50/30 dogbones, but those of us on 30 amp should not attempt to plug into 50 amp with 30/50 dogbones. In eight years of RV'ing, I have only encountered two situations where I was at a place that did NOT have 30 amp, or the site I got was 50 amp not 30, or maybe the 30 amp was not working so I plugged into the 50 amp.

The electrician said that using a 30/50 and plugging into a 50, well, you can exceed 30 amp and not know it or something like that.
__________________
JJ only, my cat went to Rainbow Bridge July 2015

I love my Sunseeker, when I'm on a trip I don't wanna go home!!!"

Total days camping each year: AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE!
DXSMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 11:03 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXSMac View Post
The electrician said that using a 30/50 and plugging into a 50, well, you can exceed 30 amp and not know it or something like that.
I suppose there is the potential to have so many things running in the camper that you would exceed the 30 amp rating of the camper wiring, as the breaker at the pole would not trip. That might result in melted wires, or simply very low voltage to your appliances.
As always, common sense is required.
__________________
bakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:29 PM   #16
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXSMac View Post
...
The electrician said that using a 30/50 and plugging into a 50, well, you can exceed 30 amp and not know it or something like that.
VinceU already spoke directly to this question in post #12. It is possible IF your 30 Amp main fails. However it is very unlikely. If it is a concern, you can build a buddy box with another 30amp fuse/breaker or a fusible link.
__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:17 PM   #17
outdoor addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Posts: 46
I regularily plug in my MH into 30 amp service. I can power my Norcold fridge, both 13.5K BTU A/C units as well as TV, Blu_ray, etc at the same time. Theone thing I do is that if it is really hot I only start up with one A/C unit ruinning until the unit is cooled down then turn on the 2nd one.
__________________
nakerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:41 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakerr View Post
I regularily plug in my MH into 30 amp service. I can power my Norcold fridge, both 13.5K BTU A/C units as well as TV, Blu_ray, etc at the same time. Theone thing I do is that if it is really hot I only start up with one A/C unit ruinning until the unit is cooled down then turn on the 2nd one.
See, his 30 amp breaker is maybe a bit too forgiving, what do you expect of a $11.00 circuit breaker? With two in series much better chance of clearing in time. Your xxx,xxx.00 coach depends on it.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:59 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,751
Quote:
I would think it would work better providing more amp's to the rig to run things?
If you have a 30 amp RV, then the electric box in your RV has a 30 amp inlet circuit breaker, so it shouldn't matter if you plugged into a 50 MILLION amp plug (I'm being facetious, but you get the idea), you'd still pop the 30 amp RV inlet breaker if you tried to pull more than 30 amps. What you DON'T have when you plug into a higher amp circuit is a backup breaker (the one on the electric post) if your RV breaker fails to open. Actually, you do still have a backup breaker on the post, but it won't open unless you pull 50 amps, by which time your RV could be toast. So you can always plug into a higher amp system (I have many times) but you just need to be aware of the risks.
__________________

__________________
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.