Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2013, 03:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
OL Creeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In our CC.
Posts: 646
30 amp vs 50 amp power

When we arrive at THE rally, it will be with our CKTS that we pick up later this month - our 1st 5er. I realize only 30amp service will be available. Our CC will have the res fridge. Will I be able to power it and one AC unit simultaneously?
__________________

__________________
Alan, Kathy & Cooper the camping cat
2014 Cedar Creek, 36CKTS
2013 GMC 2500 Denali
Duramax/Allison
Full timers since 5/30/2013
OL Creeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
It shouldn't be a problem. Be sure to use propane for the water heater and not electric.
__________________

__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:18 PM   #3
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
Not a problem. We can and have run our Whirlpool and the HP main AC on a 15 amp circuit. You may need to cut the A/C off to run the convection/microwave. Ditto on the propane for heating the H2O.
__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
chiefly1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 146
You should be just fine running the refrigerator and one AC unit on 30 amp. If you run the microwave it might have issues but even that will depend on your model.
__________________
chiefly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
OL Creeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In our CC.
Posts: 646
I really hope to meet some of you at Goshen. You've answered my questions, helped me along the way - ok, I got picked on a little too - but I've met - though by proxy - a great bunch! Thank you.
__________________
Alan, Kathy & Cooper the camping cat
2014 Cedar Creek, 36CKTS
2013 GMC 2500 Denali
Duramax/Allison
Full timers since 5/30/2013
OL Creeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:42 PM   #6
Full Timer
 
life2short4nofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Where ever we park
Posts: 125
When we are on 30amps we run the 2 refrigerators (residential inside and small apartment one outside), one air, then we pick one other thing; the other air, hot water heater, or the microwave.
__________________

Ford Western Hauler
2013 CC 36B4
life2short4nofun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:46 PM   #7
Old Member
 
mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 382
Send a message via Skype™ to mikey
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjerram View Post
When we arrive at THE rally, it will be with our CKTS that we pick up later this month - our 1st 5er. I realize only 30amp service will be available. Our CC will have the res fridge. Will I be able to power it and one AC unit simultaneously?
You'll need a 50A female x 30A male adapter (available @ RV suppliers, Camping World and of course, Walmart) and you will have no problems.

BTW your fridge is powered by the 4 6 volt batteries through the inverter when not plugged into shore (park) power. When you are plugged in to shore power the inverter is in bypass mode, the fridge is powered normally from your AC bus.
__________________
Drivin, Miss Daisey & the boss, Toppi
2018 Berkshire XL40B-380, SFE=244
mikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
hkreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,190
I have a 30 amp MH and was told once that I could plug into a 50 amp service with an adapter. I've never tried it and am wondering what the general opinion is about this?
__________________
Henry & Tena
2013 Solera 24S
The Great Escape
hkreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:43 PM   #9
Full Timer
 
life2short4nofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Where ever we park
Posts: 125
I never have had a 30amp coach but have met several people plugged into 50amp plug with a 30amp coach using the adapter with no problems.
__________________

Ford Western Hauler
2013 CC 36B4
life2short4nofun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
hkreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,190
I didn't think there would be but didn't want to do something that could cause damage. I would think it would work better providing more amp's to the rig to run things?
__________________

__________________
Henry & Tena
2013 Solera 24S
The Great Escape
hkreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.