Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2018, 05:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 218
50 amp ems plugged into a 30 amp outlet

I just reserved a state park campsite with 30 amp service.

As my fifth wheel is 50 amps I have only a Progressive 50 amp ems.

Can I assume I can plug my 30amp / 50 amp dog bone into the pedestal then the ems then my cord.

The ems will work that way? The Progressive site had little info on this.
__________________

tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 05:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tucson Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 136
That is what I do at home. Only have 30 amp service. Works out OK.
__________________

__________________
2014 Ford F450 4+4
2009 XLR 40X12
2009 RZR ready for the trail
2014 RZR XP 1000
Days camped in '16 - 87
Days Camped in '17- 62
Tucson Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 05:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 218
Thanks!

I assumed it would be ok. There would be less amps.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 06:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BuzzWolfAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Mountain Home, Arkansas
Posts: 364
I do that frequently. No issues.
__________________
Buzz & Jo Wolf
5er: 2018 Cedar Creek 29ik
TV: 2014 F350 Diesel

BuzzWolfAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 06:26 PM   #5
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomkatb View Post
Thanks!

I assumed it would be ok. There would be less amps.

You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS - seasonal
2011 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab Z71 4x4
Camping since 1989, seasonal since 2009
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 01:49 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire
I am hardly an electrical expert but I believe you may have 30 amps available on both lines but only a total available of 30 amps. Both lines cannot pull 30 amps at the same time. If a 10 amp load is on one line then there is only 20 available on the other line. I am sure someone more savvy than me will chime in and correct or support my comments.
__________________
Tom "Sundown" Davis
Mobile, AL
Our RV Site
Tom Sundown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 1,701
You will have less power available, of course, but the EMS will still provide protection from low volts, etc.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 04:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Apollo, PA
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucson Joe View Post
That is what I do at home. Only have 30 amp service. Works out OK.
X2.
__________________

2017 Rockwood 2703WS - Sold
2015 Keystone Sprinter 333FWFLS
2017 F250, 6.2 Gas, 3.73 Axle, 2902 lb Payload
If women don't find you handsome, at least they should find you handy!
andymil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 05:00 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 16,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Sundown View Post
I am hardly an electrical expert but I believe you may have 30 amps available on both lines but only a total available of 30 amps. Both lines cannot pull 30 amps at the same time. If a 10 amp load is on one line then there is only 20 available on the other line. I am sure someone more savvy than me will chime in and correct or support my comments.
Tom, it is correct that there is only 30 amps total, shared amongst both the L1 and L2.

That is what scrapper and you are both saying when you look at what I emboldened in red for both of you.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Iíve lost my scapegoat.
I have nobody to blame but myself.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 08:12 PM   #10
Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Near Selma, Alabama
Posts: 115
Note that the dog bone adapter from the 30 amp pedestal to your RV 50 amp shore line will apply 115VAC to both L1 & L2 circuits with much less amperage available TOTAL.

On a true 50 amp hookup, each (if equipped with two) A/C units are on separate 50 amp legs of the circuit breaker. If using the adapter, do not try to use both A/C units simultaneously.

Happy camping
__________________

Johntgif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.