Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2014, 12:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
Direct TV portable satellite

I have a Tailgater that I have used for a year or more but now we have switched to Direct TV and I would like to ask if anyone on here has a portable system for Direct and does it work well. I have found a portable one on the web, with shipping about $240, my Tailgater was over $300 plus the set-up. The tailgater was automatic, just set up and it found the satellite's. Just need some advice
__________________

spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 12:39 PM   #2
just a member
 
handlebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
I have the Winegard carryout Anser. You set the elevation and it locates the sat. There is an app for you're phone that you put in the zip code where you are and it tells you what elevation to use. Any where in the US or Canada.
__________________

__________________
Steve,Connie,Zach

If you haven't grown up by age 50 you don't have to.
2015 Jammer 3006WK
2013 Toyota Tundra Platinum 4x4
handlebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 01:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
IlliniJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
I could be wrong, but, I don't think that there are any portable dishes for Directv that have HD programming. I have an extra dish that I take with us. Just takes a bit longer to setup, but I get all of my HD channels, plus I can run more than one tv off of it.
__________________
Retired Army CW4 - "Waterborne"
2005 Chevy 2500 crew cab with Duramax/Allison
2014 Lacrosse 327RES

Days camped 2014 - 0, 2015 - 24
IlliniJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 01:36 PM   #4
just a member
 
handlebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
No there are none with HD for direct
__________________
Steve,Connie,Zach

If you haven't grown up by age 50 you don't have to.
2015 Jammer 3006WK
2013 Toyota Tundra Platinum 4x4
handlebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 02:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,179
I think there is some confusion here. There is no DOME dish whether portable or built on that will work with DirecTV HD. There are tons of portable dish configurations that work perfectly with DirecTV HD. For under 200 dollars you can buy an oval dish,SL3 or SL5 LNB, power supply, splitter and a sturdy tri-pod. The only additional parts would be several lengths of quality coax cable to allow the antenna to be placed with a clear view of the southern sky.
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 02:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniJoe View Post
I could be wrong, but, I don't think that there are any portable dishes for Directv that have HD programming. I have an extra dish that I take with us. Just takes a bit longer to setup, but I get all of my HD channels, plus I can run more than one tv off of it.

Does it take long to set everything up. Do you take your receiver from home


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 02:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,179
Yes, I take my receivers from home. At least I did until until we sold our house and moved into the trailer. When we bought our new house Direct came and setup a Genie and several wireless slaves. I have to test my configuration but I see no reason not to believe it will no harder than my old 4 wire setup. Withnthat setup time runs from around 10 minutes to a bit longer, depending on trees. I have several different tools I use for setup to make the job easier
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 03:51 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,506
I paid $60 for my antenna (all parts above the scrap board in the pic below), $11 for the PVC for the home-designed/made base, < $3 for bolts, etcetera. I also bought good coax cable. The 2nd time I set it up, it took less than an hour since I had some camp set-up interruptions. I can do it in 20 min. or less now. It wasn't easy to set up SWM on my Slimline antenna for HD service the 1st since I had no instructions... easy now. I take 2 receivers from home... power inserter and splitter both stay in the trailer now. Portable as in moveable - yes; as in automatic - I have no experience.

Do a search for DIRECTV or DIRECT TV or SWM or SWiM or LNB and see a couple of recent threads.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416084636.394402.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	407.7 KB
ID:	66448


Sent (I think)
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 04:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
Cool, thanks. I will check it out. I will sell the Tailgater. Direct doesn't cost anything extra. If I keep the Tailgater then I have to pay extra for Dish


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniJoe View Post
I could be wrong, but, I don't think that there are any portable dishes for Directv that have HD programming. I have an extra dish that I take with us. Just takes a bit longer to setup, but I get all of my HD channels, plus I can run more than one tv off of it.
I believe the King-Flex goes either way
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:35 PM   #11
Member
 
LeeandMick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 49
We have a King Flex with Direct TV and really like it. I can't imagine anything much easier. Works perfect.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
LeeandMick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock123 View Post
Does it take long to set everything up. Do you take your receiver from home


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
I took my recievers (4) from home and use a 722k from DISH in the front BR. that operates 2 TV's 1 in the front and 1 in the LR. and i use a 311 in the rear BR. which is only SD but what I watch i don't need HD. They said it wouldn't work but really does so yes you can oh the 722 has a built-in 500gig Harddrive the 211k doesn't have it you have to usb an outside HD to record shows my wife loves it. It takes approx. 20 mins. to set up and get signal the way i do it. I take the 311 out with a tv and rec. set it up and in mins. i am watching tv.
2013 Sierra 365saq BH
2006 Sierra 3500 DRW full time since 2010!
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:48 PM   #13
Rivnut
 
Rivnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Monterey, TN cumberland Plateau
Posts: 168
I have the King-flex and it works nicely, point the handle North, with a a clear view to south west and it finds the satellite.
Rivnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:48 PM   #14
Member
 
LeeandMick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 49
Costs us $6.00 per month to permanently have a Direct TV receiver in our 254 DSX. All the receivers in the house are HD. We had an old standard definition receiver that still works fine. So for $72 per year we are good to go.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
LeeandMick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:06 PM   #15
Rivnut
 
Rivnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Monterey, TN cumberland Plateau
Posts: 168
I call DTV and have the TT unit turned off while not using it. Just call to reinstate it.
Rivnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:07 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivnut View Post
I have the King-flex and it works nicely, point the handle North, with a a clear view to south west and it finds the satellite.
Thanks, when you first set up what did you have to do anything in the rec. need to be done?
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:12 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Ddubya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sherman Texas
Posts: 294
King flex does support Direct TV but not HD.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Alpine 3401RS,Titan Disc,Morryde SRE 4000, 2016 Ram 3500HD Laramie SRW,LWB,4X4, Aisin transmission

Ddubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:34 PM   #18
Rivnut
 
Rivnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Monterey, TN cumberland Plateau
Posts: 168
Nothing on the receiver to do, put on channel 3, use DTV remote and enjoy. If it runs thru an entertainment system, then there's a few more steps.
__________________

Rivnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


×