Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2019, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 36
Fridge not switching to AC

I am thinking my fridge is not switching to AC in auto mode. Both lights are on as it shows in the picture. I plugged in a hair dryer to check the plug and it worked. So thats not the problem. Any other ideas what to look for?Click image for larger version

Name:	20190510_184914.jpeg
Views:	79
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	204265
__________________

jmcclocklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 08:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Indy500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Indiana
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclocklin View Post
I am thinking my fridge is not switching to AC in auto mode. Both lights are on as it shows in the picture. I plugged in a hair dryer to check the plug and it worked. So thats not the problem. Any other ideas what to look for?Attachment 204265
Turn off your gas , then see what happens,
__________________

Indy500 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 08:11 PM   #3
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 9,120
Check the glass fuse on the control board on the back of the fridge. I had the same issue and my read out looked the same.

Turns out the fuse holder tabs were loose and not holding the glass fuse tightly. It heated up (from poor connection) and melted the solder inside the fuse.

Looking at the fuse, it looked good but testing with a meter, it showed open.

I replaced the fuse and all was well.

Mine quit at some point during an auto switch from AC to LP. We left to go on a trip and the fridge didn't work on AC when we arrived and plugged back in to shore power.

I checked many automotive stores for a fuse but none fit. (It's short) I finally found one at CW. (Camping World)
Thankfully it continued to work on LP while searching for a replacement fuse.

I bent the fuse holder tabs tighter together when replacing the fuse and it has never happened again in 2 years.

BTW... there is a 5 amp automotive style fuse on the control board as well. That is for the 12v side of the controls.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=18
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 08:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,961
Ask for a 2AG fuse in the amperage needed. 3AG is the typical length fuse we're used to seeing.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 08:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 36
Turned off gas and started flashing LP
jmcclocklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 04:55 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 22
Could also be electric heating element is bad.
Only way to tell is disconnect power from element, connect a meter to element and check for ohm reading to see it is any good. Then check for 120 volts at plug feeding element once power is turned back on and fridge is calling for a. Once it switches to LP, you'll have to recycle power to test again.

Hope this makes since and helps.
wvram is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:41 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Check the glass fuse on the control board on the back of the fridge. I had the same issue and my read out looked the same.

Turns out the fuse holder tabs were loose and not holding the glass fuse tightly. It heated up (from poor connection) and melted the solder inside the fuse.

Looking at the fuse, it looked good but testing with a meter, it showed open.

I replaced the fuse and all was well.

Mine quit at some point during an auto switch from AC to LP. We left to go on a trip and the fridge didn't work on AC when we arrived and plugged back in to shore power.

I checked many automotive stores for a fuse but none fit. (It's short) I finally found one at CW. (Camping World)
Thankfully it continued to work on LP while searching for a replacement fuse.

I bent the fuse holder tabs tighter together when replacing the fuse and it has never happened again in 2 years.

BTW... there is a 5 amp automotive style fuse on the control board as well. That is for the 12v side of the controls.
Thanks for your help the fuse was the problem. My last question is I cant find a 5 amp fuse but I do have a 7.5 amp fuse. Will it be ok to use it instead of a 5amp?
jmcclocklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 09:08 AM   #8
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 9,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclocklin View Post
Thanks for your help the fuse was the problem. My last question is I cant find a 5 amp fuse but I do have a 7.5 amp fuse. Will it be ok to use it instead of a 5amp?
Glad you solved the issue.

I too had trouble finding a fuse and the earlier suggestion of requesting a 2AG fuse didn't help as it seems this fuse is something of it's own.

I found a fuse that fit at CW (also 7.5 amp) and used that until I found some on the 'net that were the same number/amperage as the one in there from original.

I'll look back and see if I can find where I ordered from and edit if I do.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=18
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 10:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,961
Guessed at the 2ag size duh. Google 1 aga 5 amp fuse and see if this is the right size.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 11:07 AM   #10
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,342
If I remember right those are 5mm X 20mm fuses. Smaller diameter than standard AGA fuses.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.