Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2014, 11:25 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
mlatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mount Uniacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by OL Creeker View Post
Did you know there's a fail safe in the water heater? Yep. Ya can't burn the element even if there's no water in the tank, per the factory.
No I did not! My old 5th wheel had a switch on the control panel to put 110v to the water heater - you had to intentionally turn it on. My current one has it on by default, kind of. There is a switch outside at the water heater, but I usually turn it off and on with the panel breaker switch. When I picked up my unit and got it home and plugged in, I didn't know the water heater was on. I started messing with filling the water tank, etc. and I finally realized that the tank heater was on. I was wondering why it didn't burn out the element without water in there. Now I know - thanks!
__________________

__________________
2014 Cedar Creek 36CKTS Explorer
Xantrex Freedom SW3012 inverter/charger
2009 Silverado 2500HD Duramax Crew Cab short box
Demco Glide Ride pin box
Demco Hijacker Autoslide 18K hitch
mlatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 09:32 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 1,803
Could someone show me in the 'paperwork'/ Manuel where it states that electric water heater has a fail save switch if there is no water?
__________________

__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:43 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
OL Creeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In our CC.
Posts: 646
Fail safe

While at the factory, we were told after asking why the elect switch wasn't in the coach, that suburban moved it because lookers were burning up the elements. They would turn on items just because. They went one step further and put a sensor in to prevent burning up the element in the event there was no water in the tank. One person on the forum said he had that happen to him - and it didn't burn the element.
__________________
Alan, Kathy & Cooper the camping cat
2014 Cedar Creek, 36CKTS
2013 GMC 2500 Denali
Duramax/Allison
Full timers since 5/30/2013
OL Creeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 04:25 PM   #24
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
The suburban water heaters have an external switch only. The circuit breaker is not a switch and should not generally be used as one.
The next goodie you will find if you look at the wiring diagram is the Hi Limit/ECO (electric cut off) switch. This safety item has been in use for a long time. In the event the thermostat fails, this gem cuts the power to the heating element. It is designed to prevent catastrophic failure due to overheat. Since it derives it's temperature sensing from the surface of the tank, I don't think it would qualify as a fail safe to prevent element burn out. Following the hi limit/eco is the thermostat. It also derives it's temp sensing from the tank. There are no other switches, sensors or gizmos associated with the 110v side of the water heater.
Now with that being clear as day. This issue is way off topic and should end here.
__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 04:35 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
pavetim are you still there?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:04 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
OL Creeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In our CC.
Posts: 646
Suburban water heaters have TWO switches. One, electric, external. The second, in the panel of switches above the broom closet, is the switch for the LP gas. I agree, the circuit breaker should only be used for maint purposes.
__________________
Alan, Kathy & Cooper the camping cat
2014 Cedar Creek, 36CKTS
2013 GMC 2500 Denali
Duramax/Allison
Full timers since 5/30/2013
OL Creeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:13 PM   #27
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Not true......
My suburban has three.
One outside
Two inside.
Factory installed

TURBS
Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395195174033.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	47931  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:16 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Nice feature, somewhat rare?
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:35 PM   #29
Member
 
Grateful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 39
Batteries for Fridge

Hello, I would like to ask further about a bank of batteries for the fridge. We are now owners of the Columbus 320 RS. It has a residential fridge and 1500w inverter with one 12v battery. Our goal is to have fridge powered up for two days of dry camping at a time. I have read about two and four 6volt battery configurations (parallel). What are your thoughts to achieve our goal?

Thanks in advance,
Grateful
__________________
Columbus 320RS
Chevy 3500 HD CCSB
Dmax & Allison, SRW
Anderson 5th Wheel Hitch
Grateful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:42 PM   #30
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
pavetim, did you get an optional residential fridge/freezer? it would run off an inverter and requires a huge bank of batteries, if not on shore power.

if not, then your fridge/freezer is powered by either propane or 110v AC electric power.
are you saying that the dealer didn't show you how to run it on propane, during the PDI?
Didn't know they made a residential that would run on propane.
All I've heard are rv frig on either 12v/propane/110v/propane or 12v/propane or propane only.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.