Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-07-2015, 04:59 AM   #1
2015 Silverback/2014 F250

Full timers... Tanks open or closed

We are newbies and I have been opening and closing the tanks for 6 months and I am wondering if you can just leave them open always..
chisumbella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 05:59 AM   #2

Do not leave your black tank open all the time. You will end up with the MOUND and you really don't want to play with that. Water is your friend when it comes to the black tank. You can leave your gray water lines open all the time until it gets close to dumping your black tank. Shut the gray water valves for a day or two so you can flush out your hose after dropping your black water tank. Drop black tank, close black tank, open gray water valves to flush out your hose and pipe. If you have a black water flush, you may want to use that before using the gray water. Your black tank should be at the least 3/4 full before dumping. I never look at my gauges. When flushing the toilet, I look for a large bubble. That's an indication that the black tank is getting near full for me. I'm sure others will chime in.
Pipeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 06:25 AM   #3
Certified Curmudgeon

X2 for what Pipeman wrote. Also consider not leaving your stinky slinky on the ground.
Additionally, I suggest not leaving the gray valve full open. 1/2 or 1/4 will work. That way you can "work" it open and closed so when its time to break camp you will not have a stuck valve.

Note: I full timed in a 36CKTS.
Old 06-07-2015, 07:03 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeman View Post