Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2016, 09:47 AM   #1

Gray water tanks

I have a 2016 38CK fifth wheel, equipped with a washer and dryer. I have been using it now for 2 1/2 months here in FL. I normally leave both gray water tank valves open. Last week I decided to close the valve marked Galley (kitchen) for a couple of days prior to dumping the black tank. But before I could dump the black tank, the kitchen drains started gurgling and the water began standing in the shower. (The bath valve is Open) I opened the Galley valve and and the water immediately began draining from the shower. The idiot lights indicated that the galley was full and the bath was 1/3 full. I am 99.9% sure that the valves are marked correctly. Has anyone else experienced this? Is there some kind of crossover pipe connecting the two gray water tanks? Thanks. Dennis
Kayak30336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 10:43 AM   #2

I have the 2014 38FL and my shower drains in to the galley tank (marked 2). The bathroom sink and washer/dryer (if I had them installed) would drain in to tank 1. That is how FR/CC plumb these. To the best of my knowledge, there isn't an equalizer or cross over valve but I believe some on here have installed one.

Richard & Diane
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2016 F350 Lariat CC DRW
Retired Metropolitan Police (UK)
Hutch333id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 12:33 PM   #3

We have and use a twist on valve at the end of large black pipe. Our black tank always has a little residual which comes out when you take the cap of and this keeps behind the door. If you ever have a bad valve, break a cable, whatever you're not stuck.

We also open both grey tanks if needed and they balance. Allowing us to go about a week without dumping.

Twist-on Valve - Valterra T58 - Sewer Fittings & Adapters - Camping World
Old 03-13-2016, 04:02 PM   #4