Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 05:46 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 17
Thanks to everyone for replying.
DougP47- I will check all the terminals I can find this weekend and tightened any loose ones.
f1100turbo-To be honest, I'm not sure. It's been a long time since it was running on something other than 110. I have noticed a dimming/brightening of lights when I'm leveling, now that I think of it. The motor is running at that point, of course. I don't know enough about the elctrical system of my coach to know if these symptoms are related.
__________________

__________________
wildcatmlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:52 PM   #22
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatmlm View Post
Thanks to everyone for replying.
DougP47- I will check all the terminals I can find this weekend and tightened any loose ones.
f1100turbo-To be honest, I'm not sure. It's been a long time since it was running on something other than 110. I have noticed a dimming/brightening of lights when I'm leveling, now that I think of it. The motor is running at that point, of course. I don't know enough about the elctrical system of my coach to know if these symptoms are related.
In reality your lights should never really go bright or dim when hooked to shore power.
Also check this.....
Whith unit plugged into shore power turn on as many lights as possible and then go to your power center where your converter is located, you should hear a fan running with all the lights on.
You should also see 13.7 plus volts at the battery/batteries.

"Normally" when lights go dim and then go brite forr awhile then dim again your converter fan has stopped working and your converter is over heating.
When it overheats the converter shuts down "dim lights" then after it cools it comes back on "bright lights"


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 03:38 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
crushor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 229
So Turbs. After reading this post and your last entry that fits what is going on in my CC. As I want to troubleshoot (hands on) but am usually scraping time to do this. If I go Progressive Dynamics and lose the WFCO (45/55 if memory serves me correctly), is a PD alright to install with 60 amps? And lastly will it fit the factory location without much modification?
__________________
2007 Ford F250 4x4 Harley-Davidson Powerstroke
2006 Cedar Creek Silverback - 35 LRLBS
(2012 -11) (2013 - 10 so far)
crushor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 03:56 PM   #24
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by crushor View Post
So Turbs. After reading this post and your last entry that fits what is going on in my CC. As I want to troubleshoot (hands on) but am usually scraping time to do this. If I go Progressive Dynamics and lose the WFCO (45/55 if memory serves me correctly), is a PD alright to install with 60 amps? And lastly will it fit the factory location without much modification?
Yes the pd will fit with very little modifications.
I went from a 55 amp to a 70.
One corner of the wfco case had to be trimmed.
Wiring was all self explanatory and went in same locations.
Order the pd with external charge wizard pendant .
If you have any questions let me know.
30 minute install.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 03:58 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
crushor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 229
Thanks. Getting ready to tell DW we need to order it. I may step up to 70 as well. Thanks a lot.
__________________
2007 Ford F250 4x4 Harley-Davidson Powerstroke
2006 Cedar Creek Silverback - 35 LRLBS
(2012 -11) (2013 - 10 so far)
crushor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 04:00 PM   #26
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Also there is a trouble shooting manual in the libray right next to user cp.

Sounds like your fan has quit so the converter gets hot and shuts off "lights dim" when it cools the converter cone back on "lights bright".
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:14 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
crushor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 229
Well, after pulling the fuse/breaker box out to verify the style of the WFCO...which was the plug in style with a standard grounded plug and a pos and minus. While reading the voltage the converter would cycle at .01v increments down to 12.09v then the converter would kick in and the voltage would spike to 14.43 then the drop begins again.
One note to mention. The mass of wiring in the cabinet...I pulled the breaker/fuse box out and still had a lot of slack
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-960014012.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	29308   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4244278615.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	29309  
__________________
2007 Ford F250 4x4 Harley-Davidson Powerstroke
2006 Cedar Creek Silverback - 35 LRLBS
(2012 -11) (2013 - 10 so far)
crushor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:16 PM   #28
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by crushor View Post
Well, after pulling the fuse/breaker box out to verify the style of the WFCO...which was the plug in style with a standard grounded plug and a pos and minus. While reading the voltage the converter would cycle at .01v increments down to 12.09v then the converter would kick in and the voltage would spike to 14.43 then the drop begins again.
One note to mention. The mass of wiring in the cabinet...I pulled the breaker/fuse box out and still had a lot of slack
They leave plenty of slack for that reason so you can effectively work in there.
My 05 flagstaff wasn't the case tho.
It was just barely enough wire for the case to clear.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:18 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
crushor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 229
Like you Turbs, after the pricing I received, I only found a $20 difference between the 60 and 70 amp converter so I am going with 70 and the external charge wizard. One thought...how long is the cable on the charge wizard?
__________________
2007 Ford F250 4x4 Harley-Davidson Powerstroke
2006 Cedar Creek Silverback - 35 LRLBS
(2012 -11) (2013 - 10 so far)
crushor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:26 PM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by crushor View Post
Like you Turbs, after the pricing I received, I only found a $20 difference between the 60 and 70 amp converter so I am going with 70 and the external charge wizard. One thought...how long is the cable on the charge wizard?
If memory serves me correctly it was about 4 or 5 '
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.