Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 10:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Forbes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 703
Lost WFCO 55AMP Coonverter/ Can I...

Getting ready to pull out for FL tomorrow and found that the WFCO 55 AMP Converter on our 36RE has bit the dust. Will pick one up on way but was wondering if I could use a three stage bty charger until I get new converter?? I don't see any reason why not as they both do the same thing. Also should I go ahead and get a higher amp output while I am change it out and would it do any better?
__________________

__________________
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:00 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbes View Post
Getting ready to pull out for FL tomorrow and found that the WFCO 55 AMP Converter on our 36RE has bit the dust. Will pick one up on way but was wondering if I could use a three stage bty charger until I get new converter?? I don't see any reason why not as they both do the same thing. Also should I go ahead and get a higher amp output while I am change it out and would it do any better?
Yes you can use 3 stage charger!

If I may give some free advice ........

Don't buy another wfco......
I'd suggest a progressive dynamics brand as the wfco converters are not very reliable.

Just my .02

Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:58 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
X2 on the PD unit.

Progressive Dynamics Intelli-Power 4500 Series Replacement Converter Section
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:31 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Any updates?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:45 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbes View Post
Getting ready to pull out for FL tomorrow and found that the WFCO 55 AMP Converter on our 36RE has bit the dust. Will pick one up on way but was wondering if I could use a three stage bty charger until I get new converter?? I don't see any reason why not as they both do the same thing. Also should I go ahead and get a higher amp output while I am change it out and would it do any better?
My only input (since I missed the first post) is the converter does more than just charge the battery. It runs the camper's 12VDC system when on shore power by providing up to 55 amps of DC to manage all the 12VDC systems; and charges the battery with what is left.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:05 PM   #6
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
X3 on the PD converter. My WFCO bit the dust last year and I put in a PD in my camper. Well worth the extra money. I got mine on eBay for a great price.
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Forbes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 703
Update, Got new converter and got it in working fine, insurance company said to "just get if fixed and send us the bill" so replaced 55 amp unit with PD 65 amp unit. We are now in KARS campground in FL until late Feb or mid March out of snow
__________________
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:10 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbes View Post
Update, Got new converter and got it in working fine, insurance company said to "just get if fixed and send us the bill" so replaced 55 amp unit with PD 65 amp unit. We are now in KARS campground in FL until late Feb or mid March out of snow
Perfect!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
Member
 
kirk37r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Millville, NJ.
Posts: 67
That was the best move you could have made! Now you have A dependable converter that will maintain your batts correctly and last. The first thing I did when I brought our unit home was to replace the WFCO converter with A PD.
__________________
Kirk, Carol& Nicholas (Grandson)
2013 Cedar Creek 38FL, RV Cams rearview cam
2012 Ram 3500 DRW
CAUTION behind this truck is A contagious disease!!!
Its called Camping!!!
kirk37r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:08 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mass
Posts: 532
kirk37r - Which unit did you use? Looking at that WFCO in our FL and maybe replacing it this summer.
__________________

__________________
Walter & Donna
2011 CC LB RAM 3500 CTD 6.7L DRW
2013 Cedar Creek 38FL
2017 Days Planned: 135

38FLCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.