Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 08:25 PM   #11
Old Member
 
mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 382
Send a message via Skype™ to mikey
If you RV in TX LA or FL with an Rv of any size at all you will need the second air. If you have little kids that is more reason to have two A/Cs, more people = more A/C required. We had only one on last RV (30' Rear kitchen, 2 slides, no kids) new one has two A/Cs + thermal windows & 39'! It is worth every penny of the option cost.

Travel safe, enjoy your journey

Mike & Sheila
2013 36 CKTS Cedar Creek
'10 F350 Lariat CC DRW
__________________

__________________
Drivin, Miss Daisey & the boss, Toppi
2018 Berkshire XL40B-380, SFE=244
mikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 66
We have 2 units in our 34' SilverBack and live in Houston.
Note that the 2nd unit, which you absolutely want, will limit you to 50 amp sites in the summer.
__________________

__________________
Keith & Liz
2010 SilverBack 33L
2009 F-250
kablair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:59 PM   #13
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by kablair View Post
We have 2 units in our 34' SilverBack and live in Houston.
Note that the 2nd unit, which you absolutely want, will limit you to 50 amp sites in the summer.
Kablair - good point on the 50 amp point - however, if you can't get a 50 amp hookup at a site, I guess you can always limp along on one AC and perhaps a lot of cold beverages.

Speaking about one versus two AC's, our 29rk came with one and has the wiring for a second installed.

I am currently talking with my dealer about having a Dometic Penquin 2 installed in the bedroom. One point brought up by the FR rep was that due to the lower ceiling height in the bedroom, a remote thermostat was not required as you can easily reach the controls standing on the floor.
__________________
B47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:16 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
As far aa needing a 50 amp pole, an adapter can be bought that plugs into the 30 amp plug and a 15 amp plug to get you to 50 amps. They sell from$75 - $100. I use one with my generator when tailgating.
__________________
rmason8092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:58 PM   #15
Member
 
kirk37r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Millville, NJ.
Posts: 67
You just want to be careful when using one of those cheater plugs. Most of them will not work if you try to plug into A 15 or 20 amp circuit that is A Gfci. If you do you will still only have 30 amps and 2 ACs will not be happy at all.

FYI we just had the second AC installed in our 38FL. Man what A difference! That single unit really fought to push cool air up into the living room. Needless to say I mentioned to the owner of the dealership that anything over 36' should jt be ordered with the second AC.
Shoot if A 500.00 AC addon is A deal breaker then that deal should never be thought about anyhow
__________________
Kirk, Carol& Nicholas (Grandson)
2013 Cedar Creek 38FL, RV Cams rearview cam
2012 Ram 3500 DRW
CAUTION behind this truck is A contagious disease!!!
Its called Camping!!!
kirk37r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:56 PM   #16
Old Member
 
mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 382
Send a message via Skype™ to mikey
Short answer. . .YES, get two! We had a 5er with only one 15000 BTU and it was a constant struggle in the TX heat. And that trailer had Arctic insulation and was only 29 feet long. Our new CC Custom 36CKTS (39+ feet) got two ACs and with the temps this year, we've been comfy whenever we got to use the trailer. Almost 6000 miles so far in 2-1/2 months so I'd say we made the right choice. With the old trailer we had to choose the time of year to travel so that the AC issue was not an issue for us.
__________________
Drivin, Miss Daisey & the boss, Toppi
2018 Berkshire XL40B-380, SFE=244
mikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:28 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
two. mine came in handy while in SD...temp was 114. nights were cool.

last year we were next to a lake near Tyler, Tx and no shade. we were cool and the ones that stayed in the condo's weren't.

My reason was to have a spare if something happened to one of them in addition to the extra capacity. i also went with the heat pump...wasn't much more.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:31 PM   #18
Full Timer
 
life2short4nofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Where ever we park
Posts: 125
I have a 2013 36B4 and got all the options including the two airs, double pane windows and am glad I did. I tried to run on just one air at the Good Sam Rally in Louisville last month because of only having 30amp hookups, and it got up into the 80s inside, so I ran my generator during the middle of the day so I could use both airs. Both airs run quiet a bit and they do seem to struggle some to keep it cool around 70, during the middle part of the day. So we planning on having a third put in the middle were the fantastic fan is. There are a couple fifth wheel brands like Elite Suites that come with 3 15,000 btu airs, and a lot of motorhomes. I think the idea of a fifth wheel with one air seems like really bad idea.
__________________

__________________

Ford Western Hauler
2013 CC 36B4
life2short4nofun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.