Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2016, 06:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
roof top satellite dish

Does anyone know if you can access the satellite wire where the dish is installed from inside the coach. I need to join the satellite wire together in the roof to carry signal from receiver in back of coach to the tv in the bedroom. Do I have to open the area on roof or can I access from inside.
__________________

__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 12:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wanderer69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 114
If it was prewired from the factory for the dish then cable is already in place. You cannot access it from the inside. On the roof where the cable from the dish goes in the roof there is a cover. Remove it and you should be able to find two coax. Just install a splitter.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2015 Chevrolet Silverado LTZ 3500 CC DRW Diesel
2014 Cedar Creek 36CKTS
wanderer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 02:04 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
Its prewired. I have a dual tv satellite receiver and use a dish on a tripod. When I try to send signal on inside cable wire to rear it is fuzzy and not watchable. Antenna booster interfers and I don't want to change that wiring. Was hoping to use the prewire sat wire to feed receiver to bedroom tv. Did not want to open the roof if I didn't have to. Guess I need to go get some sealant and get to work. Thanks for the reply was hoping I could get to it from inside.
__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 03:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ttanous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 241
My 2015 has access inside the cabinet within the bedroom next to the bathroom. In the top of that closet is a cover for the satellite wires and there is 110 volt receptacle and 12 volt receptacle. This cover is directly below the soft spot on the roof that contains the prewired satellite wiring. This closet in the bedroom has the dirty clothes hamper built in the bottom of the cabinet. Good luck hope you have the same thing on your CC.
__________________
ttanous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 03:32 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
Thanks for the info, will check and let you know what I find
__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 05:33 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
Mine has the closet in the very front of rv. The closet is actually in the cap, in the top of closet is what you have and it is labeled for travelr control wires, but only able to get to one wire that has a plug on the end. Can't access the cable wire. Guess I will be climbing on the roof in the morning.
__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsp050 View Post
Mine has the closet in the very front of rv. The closet is actually in the cap, in the top of closet is what you have and it is labeled for travelr control wires, but only able to get to one wire that has a plug on the end. Can't access the cable wire. Guess I will be climbing on the roof in the morning.
What you described is what I have in my 36CKTS. That is where you would plug into the control box for the Trav'ler antenna. My coax cables were located under the labeled area accessible from the roof only. It was about 18" in from the edge above the entry door... A good distance away from the bedroom hamper closet.
__________________
Doug & Cindy
2014 36 CKTS: Titan Disc Brakes, EMS, Trav'lr
2016 Ram 3500 CTD 4x4 CCLB DRW: Andersen Alum II, Factory Rear Air Suspension, 3.73
DJNCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:13 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
Thanks, thats where i found mine
__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 01:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 202
You need separate feed for each satellite box, you can't use a splitter. Wired should be accessable in attic area you just have to remove vents, lights, speakers, etc to find them.
__________________
Gary and Donna
2005 Cardinal 33TS-LX
Trail Air pin box
Center Point suspension
2005 F-350 6.0 psd CC SRW
PullRite Super 5th
Telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 02:11 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cochran, Georgia 31014
Posts: 20
I am not going to use a roof antenna. I have a dish that i use on a tripod that works great, have no problem getting signal to receiver. The main tv at the box has a great picture. I have a dual tuner receiver and cannot get a good signal to the bedroom tv. What i plan on doing is on the roof where my unit is prewired for a dish is to join the satellite cables together as one long piece from main tv to the bedroom and use this cable to carry the satellite signal to the second tv. By doing this i do not have to rewire and bypass the tv booster. I will not need a splitter in the attic. Will only have to use a splitter in the bedroom if i want to have cable or over the air antenna reception in the bedroom. Hope i have made myself clear on what i am planning on doing. As soon as i am able to get some dicor sealant will try this and will post the results as to how it works.
__________________

__________________
Joe and Teresa
Retired from Georgia State Patrol and very proud of it.
2010 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab 6.4L Turbo Diesel
2011 Cedar Creek Silverback 29RE
gsp050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
roo, roof, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.