Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2016, 04:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 107
I bought a trailer one time that had brakes when it was sitting still but when being towed and applying the brakes the circuit breaker would pop then reset once stopped. Turned out to be a bare wire on the hot wire inside the axle tube....swapped the hot with the ground wire and never had another problem....so some one may have skinned the hot wire during the construction of the axles......
__________________

__________________
Bob Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 05:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 33
My brand new at the time ford 2015 super duty did the same thing and it was the receiver that the trailer wiring plugs into on the truck. Had to be replaced. Any RV dealer should have a thing they plug into the receiver on your truck to tell you if everything is working properly. That is how they found mine.
__________________

__________________
twosocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 05:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,005
testing a 7 pin connector - Bing
__________________
2015 Salem 27RKSS
2015 Ram 2500 CC 4x4 Cummins
55' Chevy Bel-Air
Burgers on the BBQ and a cold beer
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:11 PM   #14
KJPapa
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
We had similar problems once about a year and a half ago, tested all connections, etc. We eventually found that two of the brake magnets had detached from their mounts and had detached from the wires that actuated them. Turns out the axles were defective. Our unit was just a little over a year old when this happened. My advice is if your connections check out, insist that someone pull your wheels and inspect.
__________________
kjpapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:50 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 878
Brakes failed?
I seriously doubt that the brakes failed. Failed brake controller, broken wire, blown fuse, or mal adjusted brakes are more likely the cause. If you can't figure it out yourself, hire a mobile service tech to check things out for you.
__________________
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:03 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,005
Where is the trailer??
__________________
2015 Salem 27RKSS
2015 Ram 2500 CC 4x4 Cummins
55' Chevy Bel-Air
Burgers on the BBQ and a cold beer
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:32 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
Look at the brass connector pin inside the plug, in the molded plug attached to the trailer. Take a small screwdriver and see if the tabs are solid or bent and not making contact. From my experience.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:37 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ohio North Coast
Posts: 408
Just had a no brake situation with my unit 2 weeks ago. Started to get a "wire fault on trailer" message. Tested truck with meter and had 12v at pin. Trailer brakes worked hooked up to a different vehicle but not mine. Long story short, the brake pin in my truck plug and the brake pin in the trailer plug were not making contact. Adjusted the pins and now I have brakes and no wire fault message. Don't ask me how they got out of alignment. Hope this helps.

Bob
__________________
2013 Ford F250 SD 6.7L
2014 Wildwood Heritage Glen 282RK
Certified Rumble Strip Tester
retiredcamper47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
mike.t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cag2515 View Post
The screen on my computer in my Ram 2500 comes on and says check trailer brake wiring and then it says trailer brakes disconnected
So the trailer is still connected to the TV?
__________________
2015 Salem 27RKSS
2015 Ram 2500 CC 4x4 Cummins
55' Chevy Bel-Air
Burgers on the BBQ and a cold beer
mike.t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 10:12 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
Going to sound stupid but check the fuses in the underhood boxes. Have seen one fuses blown but not another and computer thinks is not connected. Also check break away cable/unit.


2014 Evo 2850 "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra "Clifford"
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.