Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2014, 07:55 AM   #1

towing specs help!

I know this has been discussed but my head is spinning. We are moving up to our first 5th wheel from our 1st TT. I'm a physician with OCD tendencies like everyone else but this makes no sense and I can't seem to find a consensus. I have a 2013 Ford F-250 4WD crew cab SRW 6.7L diesel with a short bed (156 WB). 3.55 axle ratio. The door jamb states a 2100 lb cargo capacity with a 10,000 lb GVWR leaving a truck weight of around 7900 lbs but the payload capacity on the brochure is 3250 lbs. That's the first discrepancy and the payload probably applies to the axle rating. The truck actually weighs 8020 lbs with 1 person and a full tank of gas. Adding in my wife, dog, hitch(200 lbs), 2 portable Honda generators with extra gas(200 lbs) and other gear, let's say 8700 lbs for the truck. That leaves 1300 from the GVWR which will be the pin weight from the 5th wheel. Knowing that this accounts for around 20%, that allows me to tow a 6500 lb loaded trailer. Subtracting 2 full propane tanks(100 lbs), water if you need to carry it(500 lbs) and maybe 200 lbs of stuff (weekend tailgaters and campers), that leaves a dry weight of 5700 lbs. According to that logic, I'm probably overweight with my Rockwood Ultralite. I better stick to popup campers. Coming at this from a more realistic perspectve, the GCWR is 23,500 lbs with a max 5th wheel rating of 15,900. Subtracting the truck weight (8700) from the GCWR leaves a trailer of 14,800 lbs loaded. Using the same numbers, dry would be 14,000. Reasonable since I see these 3/4 ton trucks pulling big trailers all over not to say that some aren't overloaded. But probably the best and safest method takes into account the rear axle rating of 6100 lbs. My axle weighs 3140 and probably close to 3600 after adding the stuff above. That leaves 2500 for the pin weight wh