Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 11:40 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 15
Thanks for all the help; but, no cigar!

Hi everyone,

Being new to the Forum, I wasn't sure if anyone was listening; however, I sincerely appreciate all the replies.

Our Cottage is equipped with a crank up Winegard bat wing antenna. The TV is a Jensen, but, it's not the motorized mount. I can't find any information in the owner's manuals supplied with the RV that show how the TV is mounted. I'm waiting for the dealer to find out either from his techs or FR how to get the TV off the mount and see what's behind it.

I've had a TV camera behind the TV set and don't see a wall plate. It appears that the coax just comes out of a hole in the wall. There's a second F-connector outlet plate in the bedroom, but, no amplifier control there.

On the outside of the RV, there are two F-connectors for "cable" and "satellite". The two connectors in the bedroom are labeled "TV antenna" and "satellite dish hook up". My cable signal from the outside comes out of the "TV antenna" port in the bedroom.

I've spoken with several folks at the dealership and several other FR owners who state the antenna amplifier control is located behind the "main" TV; but, until I get the TV off its mount (without damaging something), I won't know if this is the case.

If I ever get the answer, I'll give a full report here.

Thanks again to everyone ...

Frank
__________________

__________________
KR1ZAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:11 PM   #12
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
Frank,
All of the Jensen wall mounts are lift off. It does require a little encouragement to get the TV past the detent...
Ducky
__________________

__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by KR1ZAN View Post
...
On the outside of the RV, there are two F-connectors for "cable" and "satellite". The two connectors in the bedroom are labeled "TV antenna" and "satellite dish hook up". My cable signal from the outside comes out of the "TV antenna" port in the bedroom.
I don't agree that the booster control has to be where the main TV is. It could be in the bedroom. Could you please take a picture of that two-outlet plate in the bedroom and post it for us here?
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:13 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 15
Bedroom TV Plate Photo

Howdy,

I'm sure you're looking for a small button on the plate, but, it's just a dual female F connector plate. I removed the plate and saw only two mating wires inside the wall. No amplifier. No splitter. Photo of plate attached (I think).

My dealer is sending a service tech out Saturday (9/7) to look at several issues and, hopefully, the antenna amp will be one of those. The dealer has a call and email into FR, but, the call load is so great that we're told to expect 48 to 72 hours for any kind of response -- which may be an idea of how long it will take to provide any kind of solutions.

Frank
__________________
KR1ZAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:19 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 15
I guess I used the wrong button to add a photo, so I'm attaching a jpeg file.

Frank

Click image for larger version

Name:	BedroomTVPlate.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	39308


Quote:
Originally Posted by KR1ZAN View Post
Howdy,

I'm sure you're looking for a small button on the plate, but, it's just a dual female F connector plate. I removed the plate and saw only two mating wires inside the wall. No amplifier. No splitter. Photo of plate attached (I think).

My dealer is sending a service tech out Saturday (9/7) to look at several issues and, hopefully, the antenna amp will be one of those. The dealer has a call and email into FR, but, the call load is so great that we're told to expect 48 to 72 hours for any kind of response -- which may be an idea of how long it will take to provide any kind of solutions.

Frank
__________________
KR1ZAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:24 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mass
Posts: 532
For the actual answer I would call CC..

However thinking out loud - this is a Park Model - might it be possible they hardwired the antenna to be on all the time???
__________________
Walter & Donna
2011 CC LB RAM 3500 CTD 6.7L DRW
2013 Cedar Creek 38FL
2017 Days Planned: 135

38FLCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:33 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by 38FLCamper View Post
...
However thinking out loud - this is a Park Model - might it be possible they hardwired the antenna to be on all the time???
The problem with that theory is that it leaves no way to switch between the "Park Cable" input and the OTA antenna.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 12:44 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 15
Here's the answer!

A technician from our dealer came out Saturday. He was strong enough to lift the Living Room TV off the mount -- snug fit. Behind the TV, approximately centered in the cabinet opening, was the 120V outlet, TV cable/amplifier switch and Auxiliary interface for Satellite. The Tech didn't bug this out, but, I will in the future, to determine if Aux is the coax line to the bedroom.

I'm including the photo of the plates in a photo below. Also, the Tech adjusted the mounting bracket to allow the top of the TV to be relatively easily tilted forward, so that one can get up on a small folding ladder and reach behind to toggle the TV Amplifier Switch.

Somewhere in the future I plan to determine exactly which amplifier plate this is and look into remoting the power switch. It's ridiculous to have the TV plate mounted where it is.

Thanks to all of you who contributed ideas and suggestions.

Frank

----------------------
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LR_TV_Jack_Plate.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	39515  
__________________
KR1ZAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Wow! That's close to the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen! Not only do you need to get to that switch, but you have to connect your Sat receiver to those jacks as well. What were they thinking.

You won't be able to just remote the switch as you said. You need to move both of those plates to a place where you can reach them. If you have a place/cabinet where you would install a Sat receiver, I would suggest just remounting them in there (keeping in mind that your TV still has to connect to it as well). Do you have room on the wall where the TV mounts that is not behind the TV?
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.