Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2015, 08:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
Auto generator run

I have a 2016 Mirada 35 KB with residential fridge. I had it plugged into 50 amp service. I noticed generator hours were increasing. Why does it run?. I assume to charge batteries but if hooked up to shore power why would it run? What do I need to do to keep it from running?
__________________

__________________
Pc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 10:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pc03 View Post
I have a 2016 Mirada 35 KB with residential fridge. I had it plugged into 50 amp service. I noticed generator hours were increasing. Why does it run?. I assume to charge batteries but if hooked up to shore power why would it run? What do I need to do to keep it from running?

Sounds as though it's mis-wired, meter is monitoring shore Voltage in lieu of generator output.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 10:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 609
The auto run *may* be programmed to run at specific times even when connected to shore power. Also, if shore power is cutting out at times and the battery voltage drops, the genny should start to recharge the batteries.
__________________
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 05:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
MarsMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Maritime Provinces
Posts: 230
agreed re wiring. There should be a wire going to your 110V system. Mine is connected to an 110V outlet via a 12v adapter. If there is power it keeps the AGS from starting. In addition, some require you to actually engage the system to monitor battery voltage and/or hi-temp. wish I could help more
__________________
MarsMan

2015 Coachmen Prism 24J MBS
USN-R '01-present
MarsMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 12:11 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks. I'll pass along to service dept. they haven't come up with a good answer yet. It would help if Coachmen had a decent manual. Not a generic A Gas motor home book.
__________________
Pc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 08:11 PM   #6
WDW
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 96
Did you install an auto start or is that an option for your KS? Our BH does not have that option.


Life is always better under a Palm tree...

2016 Mirada 35BH "Trolley"
2016 Jeep Cherokee Latitude

Previous- Jayco Greyhawk 31FK

Western NY
__________________
WDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 06:30 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
I didn't have it installed. Must have come with the residential fridge.
__________________
Pc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 02:14 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
I took to dealer in December. Service said it was wired wrong and the hour meter was running but the generator wasn't. Also said there is no way the gen will run automatically on a gas coach. The hours have not increased so I thought they knew what they were talking about. Coach has been plugged into shore power for 7 weeks while we were gone.Sunday I cranked up gen and V10 and let run for a short time. I wake up this morning at 4:30 and what do I hear? Generator on motor home is running. Has anybody had a gen start automatically or am I blessed with the only one Coachman made? All input is greatly appreciated.
__________________
Pc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 03:32 PM   #9
WDW
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 96
I wound suggest writing Nate an email at Coachmen and asking him based on your VIN.


Life is always better under a Palm tree...

2016 Mirada 35BH "Trolley"
2016 Jeep Cherokee Latitude

Previous- Jayco Greyhawk 31FK

Western NY
__________________
WDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 03:54 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
I contacted Nate at Coachmen. He said take it to Cummins. If it is generator related the warranty should cover cost. If it is coach related I am to pay for it and Coachmen will reimburse me. I finally got MH toRocky Mountain Cummins in Albuquerque. Wiring checked out good. They changed the main board on the gen. Should solve problem. I highly recommend Rocky Mountain Cummins. Excellent, friendly service. Ken is the generator guru. He was checking out the coach before I got paperwork filled out. Thanks to everybody for the input and suggestions on this thread.
__________________

__________________
Pc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.